Photo: LAT/Formula E

2017/18 Formula E Entry List Unveiled

By Aaron Bearden, Contributing Writer

With just under a month remaining until the season-opening Hong Kong E-Prix on Dec. 2, the full FIA Formula E team and driver entry list for the 2017/18 season has been revealed.

The fourth season of the all-electric series will see five newcomers joining 15 veterans of the tour.

The newest name on the Formula E roster was announced with the entry list. Tom Blomqvist – a BMW factory driver who might also compete in DTM in 2018 – was confirmed as the replacement for Robin Frijns at MS&AD Andretti Formula E. After earning the ride following a shared test with Alexander Sims at Valencia last month, Blomqvist will make his Formula E debut alongside teammate Antonio Felix da Costa in Hong Kong.

Should any commitment clashes come about with DTM over the course of the year, it’s possible that Blomqvist could be replaced by Sims or another unknown driver. Teams are allowed two driver changes over the course of a season, though none are permitted in the final three races without unforeseen circumstances and steward approval.

Former Verizon IndyCar Series driver Luca Filippi also joins the list of newcomers to the tour. He replaces Nelson Piquet Jr. at the NIO Formula E Team, joining Oliver Turvey to complete their lineup.

Edoardo Mortara joins Maro Engel at the Venturi Formula E Team, Andre Lotterer pairs with Jean-Eric Vergne at Techeetah and Neel Jani accompanies new partner Jerome d’Ambrosio to complete the Dragon Racing lineup.

All three of Formula E’s prior champions will return and attempt to become the first driver to win multiple titles in the series. Defending champion Lucas di Grassi will return alongside teammate Daniel Abt at Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler, while the dominant Sebastien Buemi will again join Nicolas Prost at Renault e.dams for Renault’s final season. Nissan will step up to take over the team in the 2018/19 season.

The lone champion to make a move this season is inaugural winner Nelson Piquet Jr. The journeyman driver has moved to Panasonic Jaguar Racing for Season Four, joining new teammate Mitch Evans.

The full Formula E 2017-18 entry list can be seen below.

2017-18 FIA Formula E Entry List
Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler: Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi
Dragon Racing: Jerome d’Ambrosio and Neel Jani
DS Virgin Racing: Alex Lynn and Sam Bird
Mahindra Racing: Felix Rosenqvist and Nick Heidfeld
MS&AD Andretti Formula E: Antonio Felix da Costa and Tom Blomqvist
NIO Formula E Team: Luca Filippi and Oliver Turvey
Panasonic Jaguar Racing: Mitch Evans and Nelson Piquet Jr.
Renault e.dams: Nicolas Prost and Sebastien Buemi
Techeetah: Andre Lotterer and Jean-Eric Vergne
Venturi Formula E Team: Edoardo Mortaro and Maro Engel

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Aaron Bearden is a Contributing Writer for Motorsports Tribune, handling coverage of both the Verizon IndyCar Series and ABB FIA Formula E Championship. A native Hoosier, Bearden has attended races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since he was three years old. He can be found on social media at @AaronBearden93.