Photo: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, LLC Photography

2018 USF2000 Championship Grid Increases

By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer

With a new year comes new driver announcements and the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda is no different as three drivers have announced their plans for 2018.

Kory Enders will be rejoining DEForce for his and the team’s sophomore campaign. In 2017 Enders had one top five finish and seven top 10 finishes with only one retirement.

2017 team champions Pabst Racing announced that Rasmus Lindh will be joining Lucas Kohl for the 2018 season. Lindh progressed through the karting ranks in Europe and will be making his debut in cars in 2018 after testing with the team last October and November.

“I feel very confident in signing with Pabst Racing,” said Lindh.

“Pre-season testing went well and I am excited to have the opportunity to race in the USF2000 Championship in 2018!”

“We had several very successful tests with Rasmus last fall and I’m confident his pace will be very impressive right from the start,” said team owner Augie Pabst. “This young man will be making regular visits to the podium in 2018!”

Meanwhile, Team Pelfrey has completed their three car lineup. After announcing South African Julian van der Watt and Brazilian Bruna Tomaselli, American Kyle Dupell will be joining the team hailing from Salem, Oregon.

Dupell comes from karting and tested with the team before signing a contract.

“I’m excited to be driving with Team Pelfrey on the Mazda Road to Indy because I immediately felt comfortable the second we arrived at MSR Houston,” commented Dupell.

“Jonny (Baker) and Jeremy (Grenier) took me under their wing and helped me make great strides during our test. I think we can do great things together with their support in 2018. Thank you to Pro Race Management for making everything possible this year.”

“It is with great pleasure that we can confirm Kyle will be on the team with us this season in USF2000”, Jonny Baker, General Manager of Team Pelfrey said. “Kyle has shown his exceptional talent in the karting ranks, earning a ticket to the Grand Finals last year and when he tested with us, his outright speed and potential were extremely evident.  We are proud and excited to name him as a Team Pelfrey driver.”

Tags : , , , , ,

A 2012 graduate of LSU, Christopher DeHarde primarily focuses on the NTT IndyCar Series and the WeatherTech Sports Car Championship. DeHarde has actively covered motorsports since 2014.