Photo: Formula E

Daniel Abt, Audi Dominate Berlin E-Prix

By Aaron Bearden, Open Wheel Editor

Daniel Abt and Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler proved to be a step above the rest of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship in Berlin.

Abt claimed the Julius Baer Pole Position and surged ahead of the field early en-route to a comfortable win in his hometown BMW i Berlin E-Prix. The German also snagged the bonus point for a fastest lap with a circuit of 1:12.409 during the event.

Teammate Lucas di Grassi followed Abt across the line 6.758 seconds later to give Audi Sport a sweep of the first two positions on the podium. Points leader Jean-Eric Vergne rounded out the podium to increase his championship lead to 40 markers over second-place Sam Bird.

Sebastien Buemi and Oliver Turvey completing the top five, with Mitch Evans, Bird, Maro Engel, Andre Lotterer and Nick Heidfeld making up the rest of the points.

The race was completed with little incident, as the 20 competitors managed to avoid bringing out the safety car.

But while the field avoid any serious incidents, it wasn’t for lack of battles. Di Grassi, Vergne, Buemi and Turvey traded out positions inside of the top five throughout the 45-lap event, while others battled for positions in the points.

Season One champion Nelson Piquet Jr. appeared poised for a finish in the points after a late surge into the top 10. But an attempted pass in the closing laps went awry, sending the Brazilian out of the racing groove and back to a 12th-place result. That allowed Mahindra Racing’s Heidfeld to snag a lone point in 10th.

Formula E will return to action on June 10, when the field heads to Switzerland for the Julius Baer Zurich E-Prix.


  1. Daniel Abt
  2. Lucas di Grassi
  3. Jean-Eric Vergne
  4. Sebastien Buemi
  5. Oliver Turvey
  6. Mitch Evans
  7. Sam Bird
  8. Maro Engel
  9. Andre Lotterer
  10. Nick Heidfeld
  11. Felix Rosenqvist
  12. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  13. Tom Dillmann
  14. Nicolas Prost
  15. Antonio Felix da Costa
  16. Alex Lynn
  17. Luca Filippi
  18. Jose Maria Lopez
  19. Jerome d’Ambrosio
  20. Stephane Sarrazin

Tags : , , , , , ,

Aaron Bearden is a Contributing Writer for Motorsports Tribune, handling coverage of both the Verizon IndyCar Series and ABB FIA Formula E Championship. A native Hoosier, Bearden has attended races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since he was three years old. He can be found on social media at @AaronBearden93.