Photo: Formula E

FIA Reveals Formula E’s Season Five Calendar

By Aaron Bearden, Open Wheel Editor

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship’s Season Five calendar has been revealed.

Formula E and FIA officials unveiled the schedule for the all-electric tour’s fifth season on Thursday, following the FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting in Manila. The calendar runs from December through July, with 13 races in 12 cities making up the tour.

Season Five will begin with Formula E’s debut in the middle east, staying in Ad Diriyah on December 15. The tour will then head back to Marrakesh on January 12, with an unannounced race following on January 26.

The middle section will be filled with headline cities, including Mexico City (February 16), Hong Kong (March 10), Rome (April 13), Paris (April 27) and Monaco (May 11), with a second race at an unannounced Chinese city on March 23.

Capping off the single-seater series will be the same finale seen this year – a semifinal round at Zurich on June 9, followed by a championship doubleheader weekend at New York City on July 13-14.

Three races on the calendar – Ad Diriyah, Monaco and Zurich – are subject to circuit homologation. Zurich is also pending final approval from the city. Gone from the tour after appearances in Season Four are dates in Punta del Este, Uruguay, and Santiago, Chile.

Season Five will serve as a turning point for Formula E, ushering in the new second-generation cars that can last long enough to prevent the current mid-race car swapping, while also offering changes to the race format that include times events and new power settings for the cars.

Three races currently remain in Season Four – Zurich on June 10, and the New York City doubleheader on July 14-15.

ABB FIA Formula E Championship Season Five Calendar
Round City Country Date
1 Ad Diriyah Saudi Arabia December 15, 2018
2 Marrakesg Morocco January 12, 2019
3 TBA TBA January 26, 2019
4 Mexico City Mexico February 16, 2019
5 Hong Kong China March 10, 2019
6 TBA China March 23, 2019
7 Rome Italy April 13, 2019
8 Paris France April 27, 2019
9 Monaco Monaco May 11, 2019
10 Berlin Germany May 25, 2019
11 Zurich Switzerland June 9, 2019
12 New York City United States July 13, 2019
13 New York City United States July 14, 2019

Tags : , , , , ,

Aaron Bearden is a Contributing Writer for Motorsports Tribune, handling coverage of both the Verizon IndyCar Series and ABB FIA Formula E Championship. A native Hoosier, Bearden has attended races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since he was three years old. He can be found on social media at @AaronBearden93.