Sam Bloxham/LAT/Formula E

Lucas di Grassi Paces Opening Practice in Mexico City

By Aaron Bearden, Contributing Writer

A determined Lucas di Grassi stood atop the charts with a new fastest lap in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship’s opening practice of the weekend at Mexico City.

Di Grassi, who is still searching for his first points of the year after four disappointing races, led the way with a time of 1:01.158, the fastest lap the all-electric single-seater series has managed at Audromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

Rookie Edoardo Mortara followed in second with a 1:01.520 for Venturi Formula E Team. Jean-Eric Vergne (1:01.630), Mitch Evans (1:01.827) and Alex Lynn (1:01.849) rounded out the top five, with Jose Maria Lopez (1:01.871), Felix Rosenqvist (1:01.894), Daniel Abt (1:01.989), Sam Bird (1:01.990) and Sebastien Buemi (1:02.113) completing the top 10.

The session was completed without damage to any cars, though it wasn’t for lack of trying.

Multiple drivers were sent into the runoff areas around the course after blowing through corners, with Luca Filippi looping his NIO Formula E Team machine around late in the session. The former Verizon IndyCar Series was able to continue on without issue, though he ultimately ended the session last with a time of 1:02.844.

Tom Blomqvist also experienced problems during the session, coming to a stop on-track before limping his No. 27 machine to the pits.

The Formula E paddock will return for a second practice for the Mexico City E-Prix at 11:25 a.m. ET.

Mexico City E-Prix Free Practice 1 Results

Position Car No. Driver Team Time
1 1 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 1:01.158
2 4 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team 1:01.520
3 25 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 1:01.630
4 20 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:01.827
5 36 Alex Lynn DS Virgin Racing 1:01.849
6 6 Jose Maria Lopez Dragon Racing 1:01.871
7 19 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 1:01.894
8 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 1:01.898
9 2 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 1:01.990
10 9 Sebastien Buemi Renault e.dams 1:02.113
11 28 Antonio Felix da Costa AS&AD Andretti Formula E 1:02.231
12 8 Nicolas Prost Renault e.dams 1:02.244
13 18 Andre Lotterer Techeetah 1:02.250
14 7 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 1:02.365
15 3 Nelson Piquet Jr. Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:02.379
16 23 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing 1:02.382
17 16 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 1:02.436
18 5 Maro Engel Venturi Formula E Team 1:02.635
19 27 Tom Blomqvist AS&AD Andretti Formula E 1:02.814
20 68 Luca Filippi NIO Formula E Team 1:02.844

Tags : , , ,

Aaron Bearden is a Contributing Writer for Motorsports Tribune, handling coverage of both the Verizon IndyCar Series and ABB FIA Formula E Championship. A native Hoosier, Bearden has attended races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since he was three years old. He can be found on social media at @AaronBearden93.