Photo: LAT/Formula E

Mitch Evans, ABT Schaeffler Combine to Top Formula E FP2 in Hong Kong

By Aaron Bearden, Contributing Writer

After surprising the FIA Formula E paddock with a second-place run in free practice 1, Mitch Evans and Panasonic Jaguar Racing proved the early speed was no fluke by pacing free practice 2.

Evans’ 1:02.875s circuit led the way in the final practice session before Saturday’s first HKT Hong Kong E-Prix. The New Zealander slotted in well ahead of Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler teammates Daniel Abt (1:03.113s) and Lucas di Grassi (1:03:166s), who slotted in second and third.

Oliver Turvey (1:03.295s) and Nick Heidfeld (1:03.321s) rounded out the top five, with Sam Bird (1:03.441s), Nelson Piquet Jr. (1:03.562s), Felix Rosenqvist (1:03.571s), Nicolas Prost (1:03.616s) and Antonio Felix da Costa (1:03.636s) completing the top 10.

After topping the weekend’s first practice session, Season Two champion Sebastien Buemi hit an unexpected snag when he tagged the outside barrier in his Renault e.dams machine early in the second session.

Rookie Edoardo Mortara also suffered an issue, stopping on-track and forcing a full-course yellow with just over three minutes remaining in the session. The Venturi Formula E Team newcomer’s woes kept most of the field from completing 200kw laps in the closing moments of the session.

Next up for the Formula E paddock is qualifying, which will be aired tape-delayed on FOX Sports 2 at 1 a.m. ET. Coverage for the HKT Hong Kong E-Prix will begin at 2 a.m. ET.

Position Car No. Driver Team Time
1 20 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:02.875
2 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 1:03.113
3 1 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 1:03.166
4 16 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team 1:03.295
5 23 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing 1:03.321
6 2 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 1:03.441
7 3 Nelson Piquet Jr. Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1:03.562
8 19 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 1:03.571
9 8 Nicolas Prost Renault e.dams 1:03.616
10 28 Antonio Felix da Costa AS&AD Andretti Formula E 1:03.636
11 36 Alex Lynn DS Virgin Racing 1:03.717
12 25 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 1:03.729
13 4 Edoardo Mortaro Venturi Formula E Team 1:03.909
14 27 Kamui Kobayashi AS&AD Andretti Formula E 1:04.293
15 68 Luca Filippi NIO Formula E Team 1:04.349
16 7 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 1:04.503
17 5 Maro Engel Venturi Formula E Team 1:04.563
18 18 Andre Lotterer Techeetah 1:05.020
19 9 Sebastien Buemi Renault e.dams 1:05.057
20 6 Neel Jani Dragon Racing 1:05.342

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Aaron Bearden is a Contributing Writer for Motorsports Tribune, handling coverage of both the Verizon IndyCar Series and ABB FIA Formula E Championship. A native Hoosier, Bearden has attended races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since he was three years old. He can be found on social media at @AaronBearden93.