Newgarden Opts for No. 1 in 2018

By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief

Welcome to the No. 1 club, Josef Newgarden.

After claiming the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series title, the driver of the No. 2 Team Penske Chevrolet is switching to the recognized champion’s number – No. 1 – for next season.

It is a changing of the guard, literally, for Team Penske.

With three titles that span the past four seasons, the organization has seen both Will Power (2015) and Simon Pagenaud (2017) run the No. 1 the following year of claiming the championship, with that record continuing now with Newgarden.

The team shared the news through a social media video which can be seen below.

Tags : , , , , ,

Joey Barnes is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Motorsports Tribune, and has been on the racing scene since 2012. He has published works in AutoWeek Magazine, as well as and, among others. A background that includes semi-professional football and work at a nearby racing school, he has brought that same focus and intensity to the motorsports media world. Additionally, Joey is a fan of the San Francisco 49ers, Notre Dame Fighting Irish, New York Rangers, and can also hold his own on a bowling lane.