Photo: Christopher DeHarde/Motorsports Tribune

PPM’s Lamborghini Crashes During Sebring Practice

By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer

SEBRING, Fla. — The No. 47 Precision Performance Motorsports Lamborghini Huracan GT3 entry for the 67th Annual Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring crashed during Thursday’s second practice session at the 3.74 mile circuit.

Coming out of the first turn, Don Yount was getting up to speed after having just completed his second flying lap but then he hit a bump that unsettled the car. That unsettling caused Yount to go off track and hit the wall heavily coming through Turn 2.

“I got on the gas kind of mid corner in Turn 1 like you would normally do,” said Yount. “But that bump just seemed a little more than in years past and I think I just bottomed out. The tires hadn’t come up to complete pressure so they were still a little low so I think it just bottomed out and just threw me to the left so yeah, I probably should’ve waited one more lap to get on it like that but I don’t feel like I did anything that I hadn’t done a hundred times before in the same spot and the same place. I’m still a little perplexed on exactly how I got where I was.”

The Huracan driven by Yount, Brandon Gdovic and Lawson Aschenbach was 36th out of 38 cars in the first Thursday practice session. Yount said the team had some handling issues with some oversteer and made some changes for the second session.

“We raised the car and did a couple other things so I was excited,” said Yount. “I think I was just excited to have some of the changes we did and go out and see how they affected the car. We were trying to calm [the oversteer] down a little. They also added some aero in the back at the same time they raised it because even though the car would oversteer they felt like it was low.”

Yount believed the damage is mostly cosmetic and that the team will have the car ready to go for tomorrow.

Session one quickest times:

DPi: Eric Curran, No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi, 1 minute, 46.996 seconds. 124.507 mph.
LMP2: Gabriel Aubry, No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA, 1 minute, 50.877 seconds. 120.148 mph.
GTLM: Laurens Vanthoor, No. 912 Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR, 1 minute, 56.983 seconds. 113.877 mph.
GTD: Mario Farnbacher, No. 86 Meyer-Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3, 2 minutes, 0.793 seconds.  110.285 mph.

Session two quickest times:

DPi: Olivier Pla, No. 55 Mazda Team Joest Mazda RT24-P DPi, 1 minute, 46.834 seconds. 124.695 mph.
LMP2: Matt McMurry, No. 52 PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports ORECA, 1 minute, 52.149 seconds. 118.786 mph.
GTLM: Nick Tandy, No. 911 Porsche GT Team Porsche 911 RSR, 1 minute, 56.991 seconds. 113.869 mph.
GTD: Bill Auberlen, No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3, 2 minutes, 0.583 seconds.  110.477 mph.

Tags : , , , , , , , , , ,

A 2012 graduate of LSU, Christopher DeHarde primarily focuses on the NTT IndyCar Series and the WeatherTech Sports Car Championship. DeHarde has actively covered motorsports since 2014.