Photo: Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR CWTS Chicagoland 225 in Chicago

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

15 races into the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season six series regulars have scored a victory (Christopher Bell four times, John Hunter Nemechek twice, Austin Cindric, Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton, and Kaz Grala once). Bell has a 30-point lead over Sauter heading into the 16th race of the season. The Truck Series regulars not already locked into the Playoffs have just one more chance to lock themselves in this weekend.

The last time the Truck Series visited Chicagoland Speedway, Kyle Busch took home the victory in dominant fashion. Busch led 95 of the 151 laps on his way to victory. Daniel Hemric finished second as Rico Abreu crashed on the final lap. Cameron Hayley, Bell, and Sauter rounded out the top five that day. Of those who finished in the top five last year, only Bell and Sauter are entered in this weekend’s race.

Nemechek is the only former winner at Chicagoland in the Truck Series entered in the Chicagoland 225.

Truck Series Championship

A total of 12 drivers have Playoff points. Bell has 24 Playoff Points, Nemechek has 11, with Sauter having 10, Crafton has seven, Cindric has six, Grala has five, Ryan Truex has two, while Chase Briscoe, Noah Gragson, Ben Rhodes, and Stewart Friesen have one each.

Rhodes currently holds the cutoff for the Playoffs with Truex seven points ahead. Grant Enfinger is 31-points outside the cutoff. For Gragson, Justin Haley, and Cody Coughlin, only a victory will earn them a Playoff berth.

At Chicagoland, the first stage ends on lap 35, the second stage on lap 70, and the final stage on lap 150.

What to Watch For in the Chicagoland 225

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Tyler Young will be in the No. 02 Randco / Young’s Building Systems Chevrolet Silverado for Young’s Motorsports.
  • Jennifer Jo Cobb will have Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle “Rebel Road” as the primary sponsor of her No. 10 Chevrolet Silverado.
  • Gray Gaulding returns to the series in the No. 15 Chevrolet Silverado for Premium Motorsports.
  • Austin Wayne Self will be in the No. 44 AM Technical Solutions Toyota Tundra for Faith Motorsports in cooperation with AM Racing.
  • Justin Fontaine will be in the No. 45 ProMatic Automation Toyota Tundra for Niece Motorsports in cooperation with AM Racing.
  • Myatt Snider will be in the No. 51 Louisiana Hot Sauce Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Camden Murphy will be in the No. 83 Ronald McDonald House Charities Chevrolet Silverado for Copp Motorsports.
  • Regan Smith will be in the No. 92 BTS Tire Ford F-150 for Robby Benton.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Thursday, September 14, 3:30 p.m.

Practice 2: Thursday, September 14, 6:30 p.m.

Qualifying: Friday, September 15, 5:05 p.m., on Fox Sports 1.

Race: Friday, September 15, 8:30 p.m., on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.