Photo: Jerry Markland/Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR CWTS LTi Printing 200 at Michigan

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

12 races into the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season five series regulars have scored a victory (Christopher Bell four times, John Hunter Nemechek twice, Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton, and Kaz Grala once). Bell has an 18-point lead over Sauter heading into the 13th race of the season. The Truck Series regulars will have their hands full once again in Saturday’s race as Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular Kyle Busch will be in the field.

The last time the Truck Series visited Michigan International Speedway, Brett Moffitt took home the victory in thrilling fashion. Moffitt led just one lap, passing teammate Timothy Peters as well as William Byron. Moffitt beat Peters to the line by 0.098 seconds. Daniel Hemric. Byron, and Cameron Hayley rounded out the top five that day. All five drivers that finished in the top five last year are not entered in this year’s race.

Busch and Sauter are the only former winners at Michigan in the Truck Series entered in the LTi Printing 200. Busch won in 2015 and Sauter in 2014. In the last 12 Michigan races for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, there have been 12 different winners.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular Busch is entered in the field.

Truck Series Championship

A total of 11 drivers have Playoff points. Bell has 24 Playoff Points, Nemechek has 11, with Sauter having 10, Crafton has seven, Grala has five, while Chase Briscoe, Noah Gragson, Ben Rhodes, Ryan Truex, and Stewart Friesen have one each.

Friesen, Gragson, and Truex are the only drivers with Playoff Points behind the cutoff.

Truex currently hold the cutoff for the Playoffs with Rhodes just one point ahead. Grant Enfinger is four points outside the cutoff. Gragson is 41-points behind Truex.

At Michigan, the first stage ends on lap 30, the second stage on lap 60, and the final stage on lap 100.

What to Watch For in the LTi Printing 200

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Tyler Young returns to the No. 02 Randco / Young’s Building Systems Chevrolet Silverado for Young’s Motorsports.
  • Ryan Truex will have Hino Motors Manufacturing as the primary sponsor of his No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota Tundra.
  • Todd Peck will be in the No. 36 Chevrolet Silverado for the Mittler Brothers.
  • Austin Wayne Self will be in the No. 44 Don’t Mess With Texas / AM Technical Solutions Chevrolet Silverado for Faith Motorsports and AM Racing.
  • Kyle Busch will be in the No. 51 Textron Off Road Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Travis Kvapil will be in the No. 63 Chevrolet Silverado for the Mittler Brothers.
  • Camden Murphy will be in the No. 83 Pulse Transportation / National Arthritis Foundation for Copp Motorsports
  • Joe Nemechek will be in the No. 87 D.A.B Constructors, Inc. Chevrolet Silverado for NEMCO Motorsports.
  • Darrell ‘Bubba’ Wallace, Jr. returns to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in the No. 99 Maestro’s Classic Chevrolet Silverado for MDM Motorsports.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Friday, August 11, 1:00 p.m., on Fox Sports 1.

Practice 2: Friday, August 11, 3:00 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Qualifying: Saturday, August 12, 9:30 a.m., on Fox Sports 1.

Race: Saturday, August 12, 1:00 p.m. on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.