Photo: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for NASCAR

Roush Fenway to Field Ford Driver Development Team in 2018

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

Roush Fenway Racing’s iconic No. 60 NASCAR Xfinity Series team will return to full-time competition in 2018. The No. 60 Ford Mustang will be split between Austin Cindric, Chase Briscoe, and Ty Majeski. The team ultimately will be a collaboration between Roush, Ford Performance, and Team Penske.

Cindric and Briscoe will ascend from the now-defunct Brad Keselowski Racing NASCAR Camping World Truck Series team. Both drivers made the 2017 Truck Series Playoffs.

Briscoe finished sixth after winning the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway and earning 10 top-fives, 14 top-10s, and four pole positions. He also won the 2016 ARCA Racing Series Championship, scoring six victories and racking up nearly 1,000 laps led that season.

Cindric made it to the Championship Four, finishing third in points. He earned on victory at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park, eight top-fives, 16 top-10s, and one pole position. Cindric has competed in a very diverse number of racing series in his young career. He has competed in IMSA, Global Rallycross, ARCA, and NASCAR and is just 19 years-old.

Majeski has won the 2017 ARCA Midwest Tour Championship, his fourth championship in a row. At Homestead, he earned his first top-10 finish in the Xfinity Series. In 2017, Majeski has earned 20 victories and 29 podium finishes in just 32 starts. He is also the highest rated driving on iRacing with 830 wins in 1,112 starts.

Roush Fenway president Steve Newmark believes that their rookie drivers will be fun to watch in 2018,

“Driver development has always been part of our DNA at Roush Fenway and Jack Roush has always taken pride in providing opportunities for up and coming drivers. All three of these drivers have exhibited a great deal of potential on and off the track and it’s going to be a lot of fun to watch as they hone their skills together and grow into the next generation of champions in our sport.”

With the No. 60 running full-time, it will compete for the Owner’s Championship. Veteran crew chief Mike Kelley will lead the team. The No. 60 has earned a combined 93 victories with Carl Edwards, Chris Buescher, Greg Biffle, and Mark Martin, among others, behind the wheel. The car has astonishingly led almost 16,000 laps in its’ history.

The number of races for each driver will be announced at a later date. Until then, Briscoe, Cindric, and Majeski will have a chance to relax, knowing that they will still be competing in NASCAR in 2018.

Tags : , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.