Punta del Este E-Prix Tag

By Aaron Bearden, Contributing Writer A Championship Statement With half of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship season complete, the championship favorite has finally been revealed. Jean-Eric Vergne and Techeetah established themselves as the tour’s top team in a dominant CBMM Niobium Punta del Este E-Prix romp, claiming the Julius Baer Pole Award and leading wire-to-wire to earn their second victory of Season Four. The run was Vergne’s third podium and sixth top five in as many races this season. More importantly, it was also a championship statement. “We are incredibly happyRead More
By FIA Jean-Eric Vergne scored an impressive lights-to-flag victory today, 17 March, in the Punta del Este E-Prix – round six of the 2017/18 ABB FIA Formula E Championship. The TECHEETAH driver had to work hard for his second win of the season, as he was chased right from the start by reigning champion Lucas di Grassi in his Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler machine. Earlier in the day, fans were treated to a flat-out qualifying session, although as the intensity rose in Superpole, a number of drivers exceeded track limitsRead More
By Aaron Bearden, Contributing Writer Ahead of each ABB FIA Formula E Championship race weekend, Motorsports Tribune offers an in-depth look at the details and storylines going into the weekend’s event(s).  Race(s): CBMM Niobium Punta del Este E-Prix (37 laps, 64.01 miles) Hashtag: #PuntaDelEsteEPrix Circuit: Punta Del Este Street Circuit (Punta del Este, Uruguay) Track Details: Anti-Clockwise – 20 turns, 1.73 miles Track Record: 1:15.011 (Sebastien Buemi, 2015) What Happened Last Year: Nothing. The ABB Fia Formula E Championship didn’t compete at Punta del Este during Season Three, going elsewhere after running on theRead More