William Byron Tag

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer The last time the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series visited Kentucky Speedway, Matt Crafton took home the victory. Crafton won after the race was called after just 145 of the scheduled 150 laps when an accident sent Ben Kennedy’s truck into the catch fencing, damaging several sections of the fencing. Erik Jones finished second that day. Crafton and defending NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Kyle Busch are the only repeat winners in the field this week. Busch is also the only Cup driver in theRead More
By David Morgan, NASCAR Contributor In the midst of celebrating his first win in three years, Tony Stewart took a moment at Sonoma Raceway to look ahead to the future once he steps out of the driver’s seat for the final time when the checkered flag flies at Homestead in November. Stewart’s departure at season’s end marks the second top tier driver to step away from the cockpit in as many years with Jeff Gordon vacating the No. 24 car at the end of 2015. With both Stewart and GordonRead More
By Toby Christie, NASCAR Editor Christopher Bell won a dramatic Drivin’ For Linemen 200 at Gateway Motorsports Park on Saturday night, and by claiming his second career victory in the Camping World Truck Series, Bell became the fifth different Truck Series points eligible driver to win a race in the first nine races of the season. What this essentially means is that the eight driver grid that will make up the inaugural Camping World Truck Series Chase for the Championship is getting pretty damn full, pretty damn quickly and thereRead More
By Chris Knight, NASCAR Wire Service MADISON, Ill. – A gutsy decision to use the bottom lane for a restart with two laps to go paid off for Christopher Bell, who earned his second career NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory in Saturday night’s third annual Drivin for Linemen 200 at Gateway Motorsports Park. Bell, driver of the No. 4 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota Tundra, survived a chaotic and intense second half to edge Ben Rhodes to the checkered flag, giving KBM its 50th victory in the series, tying RoushRead More
By Toby Christie, NASCAR Editor No team has been stronger in 2016 than the Joe Gibbs Racing stable. Led by reigning champion, Kyle Busch, the team sports seven victories through the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series’ first 15 races of the year. However the team has a huge problem shaping, and it’s one that many other teams probably wish they had to deal with — they have too many talented drivers, and not enough cars to put them in. Currently the Sprint Cup Series team is packed-full with Busch, Carl Edwards, DennyRead More
By Chris Knight, NASCAR Wire Service NEWTON, Iowa – Following his second NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win of the season last weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender William Byron used a late race restart and three-wide pass to charge from fourth to first to win Saturday night’s Speediatrics 200 at Iowa Speedway. Byron, driving the No. 9 Liberty University Toyota Tundra, swiped the lead from Cole Custer on a restart with nine laps remaining, but a caution six laps from the finish saw theRead More
By John Sturbin, NASCAR Wire Service FORT WORTH, Texas – Teenager William Byron overhauled Matt Crafton with five laps remaining and drove to victory in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Rattlesnake 400 Friday night at Texas Motor Speedway. Byron, of Kyle Busch Motorsports, posted his second series victory at the expense of Crafton, who dominated the 167-lapper after brushing the Turn 3 wall 11 laps into the night. Byron earned his breakthrough series victory earlier this season at Kansas Speedway, a 1.5-mile quad-oval similar to TMS. Byron, 18, isRead More
By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer The last time the NASCAR Camping World Series visited Texas Motor Speedway, Erik Jones took home the victory. With the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in Michigan this week, there will not be any Cup Series regulars entered in this weekend’s event. Matt Crafton is the only former Texas Motor Speedway winner in the field, having won twice in the past four visits to the track. Truck Series Chase Six races into the 2016 Camping World Truck Series Season, there have been five different winners. OnlyRead More
By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer CONCORD, N.C. – Charlotte hometown drivers William Byron, and Daniel Hemric were both looking for some hometown magic at their home track. Byron started on the pole after posting the fastest time in practice and qualifying being washed out by rain. Meanwhile Hemric started the race in eighth. Byron got off to an early start, leading the first 24 laps before pitting under the competition caution. After the first round of pit stops, both Byron and Hemric restarted in the top five. Byron slid back onRead More
By Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service CONCORD, N.C. – Matt Crafton had a lot to overcome on Saturday—a 17th-place starting position and a difficult pit stall that cost him dearly in the early stages of Saturday’s North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. But after 134 laps, Crafton was 5.748 seconds ahead of second-place Kyle Busch, winning the race and extending his series lead to 12 points over seventh-place finisher Timothy Peters. In fact, the two-time champion won consecutive races for the first time in his NASCAR CampingRead More