Photo: Brian Eberly/Motorsports Tribune

Austin Cindric Earns First Career XFINITY Pole Award at Iowa

By Brian Eberly, Contributing Writer

NEWTON, Iowa — Austin Cindric turned a lap at 131.409 mph in the final round of knockout qualifying to put the No. 22 Team Penske Ford on the pole for Sunday’s Iowa 250 presented by Enogen at Iowa Speedway. It was the first pole of Cindric’s NASCAR XFINITY Series career in his 15th start.

Daniel Hemric, Brandon Jones, Elliott Sadler and Cole Custer rounded out the top-five.

Hemric starts from the outside of the front row for the second week in a row in the No. 21 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet.

Ryan Truex, Tyler Reddick, Kaz Grala, Riley Herbst, Michael Annett, Justin Allgaier and Matt Tifft completed the top-12 starting positions.

Herbst is running the full ARCA Racing Series schedule for Joe Gibbs Racing and is making his XFINITY Series debut behind the wheel of the team’s No. 18 Toyota. All four JR Motorsports will starting in the top-12.

No cars failed to qualify for the 40-car field. Both Christopher Bell and Ryan Reed failed to pass pre-qualifying inspection in time to turn a lap and will start from the rear of the field. NASCAR officials confirmed that both drivers passed on their second attempt so there are no crew ejections.

The field is comprised of 28 Chevrolets, seven Toyotas and five Fords.

The 2018 season has featured 12 different winners in the first 13 races. Just three of those 12 winners are in today’s field at Iowa (Allgaier, Bell and Reddick), so the odds are in favor of the streak continuing in XFINITY Series competition.

The race distance is 250 laps (218.75 miles) with Stage 1 ending on Lap 60 and Stage 2 ending on Lap 120. The race broadcast will begin on FS1 at 4:30 p.m. ET with the race scheduled for 5:00 p.m. ET. Radio coverage will be available on MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

The full starting lineup can be found here.

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , ,