Photo: Brian Eberly/Motorsports Tribune

Enfinger Earns Second Career Truck Series Pole at Gateway

By Brian Eberly, Contributing Writer

MADISON, Ill. — Grant Enfinger turned a lap at 138.867 mph in the final round of knockout qualifying to earn the pole award for Saturday night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at Gateway Motorsports Park. The top spot was the second of Enfinger’s career, his first since 2016 and his first on a non-restrictor plate track.

Christian Eckes, making his second Truck Series start, will roll off second in the No. 46 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota. Eckes has an ARCA Racing Series win this season and finished eighth last week at Iowa Speedway in his Truck Series debut.

Noah Gragson, Justin Haley and Ben Rhodes completed the top-five. Despite the qualifying effort, Rhodes will start from the rear of the field after contact with the wall in final practice sent his No. 41 ThorSport Racing team to pull out the backup truck.

Matt Crafton, John Hunter Nemechek, Todd Gilliland, Jesse Little, Zane Smith, Brett Moffitt and Cody Coughlin rounded out the top-12.

Nemechek is the defending race-winner and Smith is making his Truck Series debut in the No. 54 DGR-Crosley Toyota.

Moffitt comes off an emotional victory last week at his home track of Iowa Speedway. Despite two wins and being third in the championship standings, Moffitt doesn’t have sponsorship for next weekend and is at risk of missing the race at Chicagoland Speedway.

Johnny Satuer, who has four wins on the 2018 season and is the leader in the championship standings, will start 13th.

B.J. McLeod and Camden Murphy failed to qualify for the 32-truck field. The starting grid is comprised of 21 Chevrolets, six Toyotas and five Fords.

The Villa Lighting delivers the Eaton 200 presented by CK Power will be broadcast on Fox Sports 1 beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET. Radio coverage will be available on MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

The complete starting lineup can be found here.

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,