Hamilton Beats Verstappen to Top in FP2 in Singapore


Lewis Hamilton beat Max Verstappen by a little under two tenths of a second to take over from the Dutchman at the top of the timesheets in the second practice session for the Singapore Grand Prix. 0.184s in the second Formula 1 free practice session for the Singapore Grand Prix.

Verstappen’s team-mate Alex Albon was the first of the expected front runners to bolt on soft tyres for a qualifying run and the Thai driver posted a good time of 1:39.943 on his first race weekend at the Singapore Grand Prix.

His time was soon beaten by Verstappen, however, and then Hamilton took over at the top with a time of 1:39.773s that stood until the end of the session.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel and Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas also managed to squeeze past Albon’s time, with the German taking third place ahead of the Finn. Vettel’s time, though, was some way off Hamilton’s pace and the Ferrari driver finished eight tenths of a second adrift of the Briton’s P1 time. Bottas took fourth, three tenths of a second behind Vettel.

Sixth place in the session went to Belgian and Italian GP winner Charles Leclerc who was bouncing back after losing most of the first session to a gearbox problem. The Monegasque racer finished seven hundredths of a second behind Albon though the Ferrari driver’s lap was somewhat compromised by traffic.

Best of the rest status in FP2 was taken by McLaren’s Carlos Sainz, with the Spaniard taking seventh place 0.179s ahead of Renault works driver Nico Hulkenberg. Lando Norris was ninth in the second McLaren and the top-10 order was rounded out by Toro Rosso’s Pierre Gasly.

2019 FIA Formula 1 Singapore Grand Prix – Free Practice 2 
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 29 1:38.773
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 29 1:38.957 0.184
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 31 1:39.591 0.818
4 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 30 1:39.894 1.121
5 Alex Albon Red Bull Racing 30 1:39.943 1.170
6 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 31 1:40.018 1.245
7 Carlos Sainz McLaren 33 1:40.145 1.372
8 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 30 1:40.324 1.551
9 Lando Norris McLaren 35 1:40.361 1.588
10 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 32 1:40.637 1.864
11 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 32 1:40.713 1.940
12 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 30 1:40.811 2.038
13 Sergio Perez Racing Point 29 1:40.875 2.102
14 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing 35 1:41.128 2.355
15 Lance Stroll Racing Point 31 1:41.128 2.355
16 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Racing 28 1:41.232 2.459
17 Romain Grosjean Haas 26 1:41.392 2.619
18 George Russell Williams 35 1:41.445 2.672
19 Kevin Magnussen Haas 30 1:41.564 2.791
20 Robert Kubica Williams 35 1:42.177 3.404

Tags : , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.