Photo: Stephen A. Arce/ASP, Inc.

Logano Bumps His Way to NASCAR Cup Series Victory at Darlington

By Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service

Executing a decisive bash-and-run on the next-to-last-lap of Sunday’s Goodyear 400 at Darlington Raceway, Joey Logano wrested the lead from William Byron and ended a NASCAR Cup Series 40-race winless streak dating to March of 2021 at the Bristol Dirt Track.

After Logano gave Byron’s Chevrolet a jolt entering Turn 3 on the white-flag lap, Byron shot up the track into the outside wall and fell back to 13th at the finish.

Driving a No. 22 Ford sporting the throwback paint scheme of his first quarter-midget racer, Logano beat runner-up Tyler Reddick to the finish line by .775 seconds to earn his first victory at Darlington and the 28th of his career.

Logano now has won at least one race in 11 consecutive Cup Series seasons. 

“Yeah, you’re not going to put me in the wall and not get anything back,” Logano said, apparently referring to earlier contact from Byron’s car. “That’s how that works. Man, super proud of the Shell-Pennzoil team, getting a victory here in Darlington. You know what it’s like—I’ve never won here in a Cup race before.

“So proud of this race team. Great execution all day long. I’ll tell you what, the coolest thing is getting this car into Victory Lane. This is the car where it all started for me back in ’95 in a quarter midget. Really, honestly, all the young kids racing out there right now—this could be you.”

An incensed Byron clearly thought Logano crossed the line with his aggressive maneuver.

“We were really close off of (Turn) 2, and I think it spooked him and got him tight, and he was right against the wall, and I got the lead,” Byron said of a restart on Lap 268. “He’s just an idiot. He does this stuff all the time. I’ve seen it with other guys.

“He drove in there 10 miles an hour too fast, and with these Next-Gen cars, he slammed me so hard it knocked the whole right side off the car, and no way to make the corner.

“Yeah, he’s just a moron. He can’t win a race, so he does it that way. I don’t know, we’ll… yeah, it was close racing on the restart. We were faster than him. Obviously, at the end the right rear (of Byron’s car) started to go away, and, yeah, he didn’t even make it a contest.”

Justin Haley ran third, followed by Kevin Harvick, who posted his 13th straight top-10 result at the Lady in Black—a track record. Chase Elliott started at the rear of the field in a backup car and finished fifth.

A massive wreck off Turn 2 on Lap 261 of 293 took out more than a handful of frontrunning cars and set up the final restart. Martin Truex Jr., who had restarted on the inside of Row 2, lost momentum in the corner and slid back between the Chevrolet of Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and the Ford of Kevin Harvick.

Truex’s Toyota made slight contact with Stenhouse’s Camaro in the outside—but enough to start Truex spinning sideways. The wreck collected the cars of Kurt Busch, Bubba Wallace, Cole Custer, Denny Hamlin, Erik Jones, Chase Briscoe, Ryan Blaney and Elliott, which suffered damage ranging from minimal to terminal.

Ill fortune led to the demise of three of the strongest cars before the race reached the halfway point. On Lap 114 second-place starter Kyle Larson brought his No. 5 Chevrolet to pit road and retired with engine failure.

Lap 167 brought the downfall of Kyle Busch, who had led 19 laps. The No. 6 Ford of Brad Keselowski pounded the outside wall in Turn 2 and collected the Toyota of Busch, eliminating both cars from the race.

Ross Chastain collected the second stage win of his career in Stage 2, but his elation was short-lived. Moments after the subsequent restart on Lap 196, Chastain’s No. 1 Chevrolet spun to the inside of Hamlin’s Toyota near the exit of Turn 2 and nosed into the inside wall, ending his race.

“We were fighting the balance all day,” Chastain said. “We were racing with those guys for the lead. I just thought I could run the bottom there off of Turn 2 at the exit of the patch (of new asphalt). I just got loose on the transition and spun out.”

By the time the race ended, 13 of the 36 cars already were in the garage, equaling the number of DNFs last month at Talladega.

Logano’s victory in a Ford kept Chevrolet winless at Darlington since Harvick’s victory there in 2014.

NASCAR Cup Series Race – 3rd Annual Goodyear 400

Darlington Raceway

Darlington, South Carolina

Sunday, May 8, 2022

  1. (1)  Joey Logano, Ford, 293.

  2. (10)  Tyler Reddick, Chevrolet, 293.

  3. (29)  Justin Haley, Chevrolet, 293.

  4. (35)  Kevin Harvick, Ford, 293.

  5. (34)  Chase Elliott, Chevrolet, 293.

  6. (3)  Christopher Bell, Toyota, 293.

  7. (16)  Michael McDowell, Ford, 293.

  8. (26)  Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Chevrolet, 293.

  9. (14)  Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 293.

  10. (20)  Daniel Suarez, Chevrolet, 293.

  11. (12)  Aric Almirola, Ford, 293.

  12. (21)  Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, 293.

  13. (9)  William Byron, Chevrolet, 293.

  14. (25)  Harrison Burton #, Ford, 293.

  15. (27)  Todd Gilliland #, Ford, 293.

  16. (18)  Chris Buescher, Ford, 293.

  17. (7)  Ryan Blaney, Ford, 293.

  18. (19)  Austin Cindric #, Ford, 293.

  19. (31)  Cody Ware, Ford, 293.

  20. (13)  Chase Briscoe, Ford, 293.

  21. (22)  Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 292.

  22. (33)  Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, 292.

  23. (32)  JJ Yeley(i), Ford, 288.

  24. (4)  Martin Truex Jr., Toyota, Accident, 263.

  25. (11)  Erik Jones, Chevrolet, Accident, 262.

  26. (28)  Cole Custer, Ford, Accident, 260.

  27. (17)  Bubba Wallace, Toyota, Accident, 260.

  28. (6)  Kurt Busch, Toyota, Accident, 260.

  29. (15)  Alex Bowman, Chevrolet, Accident, 255.

  30. (8)  Ross Chastain, Chevrolet, Accident, 194.

  31. (24)  Daniel Hemric(i), Chevrolet, Engine, 188.

  32. (36)  BJ McLeod, Ford, Brakes, 184.

  33. (5)  Kyle Busch, Toyota, Accident, 167.

  34. (23)  Brad Keselowski, Ford, Accident, 166.

  35. (30)  Corey LaJoie, Chevrolet, Accident, 152.

  36. (2)  Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, Engine, 112.

Average Speed of Race Winner:  119.158 mph.

Time of Race:  3 Hrs, 21 Mins, 32 Secs. Margin of Victory:  .775 Seconds.

Caution Flags:  9 for 47 laps.

Lead Changes:  24 among 13 drivers.

Lap Leaders:   K. Larson 1-6;J. Logano 7;K. Larson 8-31;J. Logano 32;J. Yeley(i) 33;J. Logano 34-61;K. Busch 62-79;J. Logano 80-93;C. Ware 94;J. Logano 95-135;K. Busch 136;E. Jones 137;K. Harvick 138;M. Truex Jr. 139-165;R. Chastain 166-191;D. Hamlin 192-199;J. Logano 200-208;D. Hamlin 209-242;M. Truex Jr. 243;C. Bell 244-246;T. Reddick 247-256;J. Logano 257-267;W. Byron 268-291;J. Logano 292-293.

Leaders Summary (Driver, Times Lead, Laps Led):  Joey Logano 8 times for 107 laps; Denny Hamlin 2 times for 42 laps; Kyle Larson 2 times for 30 laps; Martin Truex Jr. 2 times for 28 laps; Ross Chastain 1 time for 26 laps; William Byron 1 time for 24 laps; Kyle Busch 2 times for 19 laps; Tyler Reddick 1 time for 10 laps; Christopher Bell 1 time for 3 laps; Cody Ware 1 time for 1 lap; JJ Yeley(i) 1 time for 1 lap; Kevin Harvick 1 time for 1 lap; Erik Jones 1 time for 1 lap.

Stage #1 Top Ten: 22,1,20,18,19,24,11,43,8,23

Stage #2 Top Ten: 1,19,22,11,24,43,20,9,10,99

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.