Power Drives to First Indy 500 Win, 17th for Team Penske


INDIANAPOLIS – Will Power became the first Australian winner of the Indianapolis 500 with a superb drive to victory lane in today’s 102nd Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.

Driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, Power crossed the finish line 3.1589 seconds ahead of pole sitter Ed Carpenter to collect his first Indy 500 and the record 17th for Team Penske. It also allowed the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series champion to become the first driver to sweep both races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, following his May 12 triumph in the INDYCAR Grand Prix on the IMS road course.

The win was also the 34th of the 37-year-old’s Indy car career, tying him for eighth place on the all-time list with two-time Indy 500 winner Al Unser Jr. Power took over the unofficial championship lead after six of 17 races this season, holding an 11-point lead over teammate Josef Newgarden.

Carpenter finished second in the No. 20 Ed Carpenter Racing Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet, his best Indy 500 result in 15 tries. Scott Dixon, the 2008 Indy 500 winner, finished third, with 2016 race winner Alexander Rossi fourth and 2014 race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay fifth.

Tags : , , , , , , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.