Photo: Streeter Lecka/Getty Images for NASCAR

Roush Fenway Announces Xfinity Series Driver Schedule

By Luis Torres, Staff Writer

Roush Fenway Racing announced its 2018 driver schedule for the No. 60 Ford Tuesday, beginning with Austin Cindric at Daytona Feb. 17. The ride will also be shared by Chase Briscoe and Ty Majeski as they’ll look to capture its first NASCAR Xfinity Series Owners championship since 2011.

Briscoe will make his first start a week after Cindric at Atlanta Feb. 24 while Majeski will have to wait until Bristol April 14 to make his season debut.

Crew chief Mike Kelley said he’s looking forward working with the trio this season.

“We’re really excited to get going,” Kelley said. “We spent the winter hanging out with these guys. I could not have asked for three better drivers.  They all bring something different to the table, but together we are going after the Owner’s Championship.  We’re all looking forward to some big things from Ford and these drivers.”

Both Briscoe and Cindric competed in the Camping World Truck Series last season for the defunct Brad Keselowski Racing with each scoring a win. Cindric made the Championship 4, finishing third in the final standings. Briscoe finished sixth in points and won both NASCAR Most Popular Driver and Rookie of the Year honors.

Majeski made three previous Xfinity Series starts last season, qualifying each race inside the top-10 and finished 10th at Homestead for his first top-10 finish.

Cindric will compete in eight races, including both races at Daytona. Briscoe and Majeski will compete 12 races apiece, notably splitting seating time in the final eight races of 2018.

Majeski will compete in half of the road course races. The two being Road America Aug. 25 and the “roval” at Charlotte Sept. 29. Cindric will run at Watkins Glen Aug. 4 and Briscoe the following week at Mid-Ohio Aug. 11.

Briscoe will wrap up the season at Homestead Nov. 17, the site of his only Truck Series victory last season.

Since its Xfinity Series debut at Daytona Feb. 15, 1992, the legendary No. 60 team has scored an Xfinity Series high 93 wins, three series titles (2002, 2007 and 2015) and two owners titles (2002 and 2011).

Roush Fenway Racing #TheProgram60 2018 Schedule

Tags : , , , , , , ,

From the Pacific Northwest, Luis is a University of Idaho graduate with a Bachelor's degree in Broadcasting and Digital Media and a three-time National Motorsports Press Association award winner in photography. Ever since watching the 2003 Daytona 500, being involved in auto racing is all he's ever dreamed of doing. Over the years, Luis has focused on writing, video and photography with ambitions of having his work recognized.