Photo: Ferrari

Start Times for 2019 F1 Season Confirmed

By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief

Formula One has announced the start times for the 2019 season, which stay relatively consistent to last year.

The sport opted for later start times in 2018 in an effort to assist broadcast partners, starting events 10 minutes after the hour instead of on the hour like previous seasons.

The biggest change on the upcoming schedule will be for the French Grand Prix, which will start at 3:10 p.m. local time versus the 4:10 p.m. time from last year that was made in an effort to not clash with a FIFA World Cup match.

Two races start during the day and will end under the lights – the Bahrain Grand Prix at 6:10 p.m. and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at 5:10 p.m. – with the Singapore Grand Prix keeping hold as the only full night event that will begin at 8:10 p.m.

Both the Mexican Grand Prix and the United States Grand Prix have the earliest start times at 1:10 p.m.

The season starts on March 17 and will go lights out for the Australian Grand Prix at 4:10 pm.

The full schedule and start times can be seen below:

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Joey Barnes is the Founder of Motorsports Tribune. He has covered auto racing since 2013 that has spanned from Formula 1 to NASCAR, with coverage on IndyCar. Additionally, his work has appeared on Racer, and Autoweek magazine. In 2017, he was recognized with an award in Spot News Writing by the National Motorsports Press Association.