Fast Friday Tag

By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Scott Dixon raised the speed limit on “Fast Friday” at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, turning the fastest lap of the week – 233.302 mph – in the final full day of practice before Crown Royal Armed Forces Qualifying Weekend for the 105th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge. It was the second day this week that six-time and reigning NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Dixon topped the speed charts, as he also was fastest Wednesday in the No. 9 PNC Bank Grow Up Great Honda. MEDIA LINKS: Fast Friday Practice Results | CombinedRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer INDIANAPOLIS – It was the Honda show during Fast Friday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Whether it’s single-lap or a four-lap average, they ruled the speed charts. The stranglehold was strong that only three Chevrolet drivers cracked the top-10 on the four-lap average. One of the three also was the lone man who’s one-lap speed made the top-10. That guy was Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward. The XPEL 375 winner was sixth fastest in single-lap speed at 232.034 mph with his four-lap average of 231.522 mphRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer INDIANAPOLIS – It’s been nine years since Chip Ganassi Racing has won the Indianapolis 500. Certainly, a long drought for the four-car organization that consists of Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Alex Palou and one Marcus Ericsson. After three days of solid progress in preparation for the 105th Indy 500, Ericsson continues to quietly build momentum. Not just for the Month of May, but this season as a whole. One of the key contributing factors is being with his No. 8 team for two straight seasonsRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer INDIANAPOLIS – INDYCAR confirmed Friday morning that Santino Ferrucci is allowed drive the No. 45 Hy-Vee/Mountain Dew Honda. This comes a day after having a massive shunt in Turn 2 during Thursday’s practice at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Ferrucci was checked and released from Methodist Hospital last evening where he remained in good spirits. He checked up with his NASCAR Xfinity Series team (Sam Hunt Racing) and current Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing INDYCAR crew shortly after his release. “I just made a mistake following Takuma (Sato).Read More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer Where a driver rolls of in line for qualifying has never been so vital than this year’s Indianapolis 500 as Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal and Takuma Sato will be the first two guys out for tomorrow’s qualifying session, beginning at 11:00 a.m. ET. Drawing took place 15 minutes after the six-plus hour Fast Friday practice session concluded as drivers and team representatives came up to the stage based on where they ended up in practice. Once they were on stage, they grabbed a coinRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer Two days of practice for the Indianapolis 500 are in the books and one man has shown impressive strides where he might have become a dark horse contender for this year’s Greatest Spectacle in Racing. And that dark horse contender is rookie Alex Palou. The Spaniard hasn’t let the Indianapolis Motor Speedway intimidate him as he’s been among the top-10 fastest in not just overall speed, but on average lap runs as well. This was the case Thursday when Palou’s No. 55 Dale Coyne Racing withRead More

Posted On May 20, 2016By Josh FarmerIn Breaking News, Headline News, IndyCar

Power Tops Fast Friday at Indy

By Josh Farmer, IndyCar Reporter INDIANAPOLIS – Will Power turned up the wick during Happy Hour to set the fastest lap of the week in preparation for qualifying for this weekend’s 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Presented by PennGrade Motor Oil. The Aussie caught a tow with around an hour remaining Friday evening to log a blistering lap of 232.672 mph. Josef Newgarden set the second quickest lap of the session late in the evening and was the only other driver to break 232 mph with a 232.364 mphRead More
By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief INDIANAPOLIS – Rick Mears is arguably one of the greatest drivers at the Indianapolis 500 and for team owner Roger Penske. The four-time Indianapolis 500 champion has enjoyed several special moments at the 2.5-mile oval, but aside from his victories, one of Mears’ favorite memories was his first pole. The legendary driver jetted to the top of the pylon in 1979, the same year he won his first Indy 500, in a Penske PC-6. Recalling the joyous memory, Mears shared it with the media on FastRead More
Simon Pagenaud reared his double-down times from yesterday with a lap of 230.698 mph to lead the final day of practice before qualifying for the 99th Running of the Indianapolis 500. The Frenchman’s lap was aided by a slight tow while 2008 Indianapolis 500 winner Scott Dixon led the field in the non-tow category with a lap of 230.698 mph. The top two were followed by Tony Kanaan, Marco Andretti, Will Power and Sage Karam, who were all north of 230 mph. Andretti was one of only two other HondasRead More