Honda Indy Toronto Tag

By Frank Santoroski, Staff Writer Will Power took his third victory of the year in the No. 12 Verizon Penske Chevrolet yesterday on the streets of Toronto. In doing so, the points battle at the top of the order in the Verizon IndyCar Series has tightened considerably. Here are five takeaways from this weekend’s action. 1 ) First to Worst Just seven days ago, Tennesse’s Josef Newgarden was the talk of the town, having thoroughly trounced the entire field in Iowa. He earned high praise, considering the fact that heRead More
TORONTO (Sunday, July 17, 2016) – Will Power feels he’s been on the wrong side of enough caution periods in the Verizon IndyCar Series that he’ll gladly accept the timely one that helped him win the Honda Indy Toronto. The 2014 series champion claimed his third win of the season and third on the streets of Exhibition Place by 1.5275 seconds over teammate Helio Castroneves, driving directly into the 2016 championship conversation in the process. Power now sits second in the standings despite missing the season opener, 47 points behindRead More
A modified track layout – including the shift of pit lane to the opposite side of the circuit – highlights changes to the temporary street course that plays host to the Honda Indy Toronto from July 15-17. The modified design – the first since 1996 and third since the inaugural race in 1986 – accommodates Hotel X Toronto, the newly constructed structure on the historic grounds of Exhibition Place, just inside the Princes’ Gates and opposite the Enercare Centre (previously known as the Direct Energy Centre). The new configuration alsoRead More
INDIANAPOLIS (March 10, 2016) – ABC’s enhanced coverage of the epic 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race presented by PennGrade Motor Oil and increased programming on NBCSN, including 10 hours of live practice telecasts, highlight the Verizon IndyCar Series television programming schedule for 2016. Total on-air programming from INDYCAR’s network partners is more than 110 hours, up from 2015. It includes live coverage of all 16 races on the Verizon IndyCar Series schedule, qualifying shows for all NBCSN events and Indianapolis 500 time trials on ABC, practice sessionsRead More
A perfectly timed pitstop before a full course caution put Josef Newgarden in position to become the first repeat winner of the Verizon IndyCar Series season. The race started in wet conditions and was dominated early by polesitter Will Power with teammate Simon Pagenaud holding steady in second place. The track dried out rather quickly and the field pitted for dry tires after just 11 laps of racing. Power re-assumed the lead once the queue cycled around but now had Pagenaud right on his tail and stalked his teammate overRead More
TORONTO, Ont. – Spencer Pigot won his third Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tire race of the season after inheriting the lead following a scary crash involving leaders Nelson Piquet, Jr. and RC Enerson. Pigot, the reigning Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tire champion, started third and made an impressive pass on current points leader Jack Harvey on lap 7 to regain the position. The 21-year-old Juncos Racing driver was the second MAZDASPEED scholarship winner to visit the top step of the podium in Toronto when he beat HarveyRead More