INDYCAR Grand Prix Tag

Walter Arce/ASP, Inc.
By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief INDIANAPOLIS – There isn’t much that reigning and five-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon hasn’t seen throughout his 19 years in Indy car racing. So the 38-year-old New Zealander could feel defeat looming despite leading as the laps trickled down in the INDYCAR Grand Prix. The 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was the site of persistently increasing rain and an abundance of mixed strategies, which saw Dixon look every bit the part of his winning pedigree as he led a race-high 39Read More
Walter Arce/ASP, Inc.
By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Simon Pagenaud overcame the elements and the competition to win the INDYCAR Grand Prix in thrilling fashion. Pagenaud passed five-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon for the lead on the next-to-last lap on a rain-soaked Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course and pulled away to collect the 12th victory of his Indy car career and first in a 23-race span. Three of those wins have come in the INDYCAR Grand Prix. “What a way to start May!” said Pagenaud, who won by 2.0469 seconds. “The carRead More
By Luis Torres, Staff Writer The recurring theme continues for both rookies Marcus Ericsson and Colton Herta, the only retirees in Saturday’s epic INDYCAR Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. Their days ended in separate accidents while having stellar runs in the early portions of the race before rainy conditions played a pivotal role, neither whom dealt with due to their exits. Ericsson was the first victim of the 85-lap contest as he was on a charge to catch Will Power for the ninth position until theRead More
Walter Arce/ASP, Inc.
By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Rookie Felix Rosenqvist won his first pole in the NTT IndyCar Series on Friday by outpacing Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon in the Firestone Fast Six qualifying session for the INDYCAR Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The 27-year-old Swede posted a lap of 1 minute, 8.2785 seconds (128.597 mph) in the No. 10 NTT DATA Honda. Dixon, a five-time series champion, ran 1:08.2979 (128.560) in the No. 9 PNC Bank Honda. INDYCAR GRAND PRIX: Qualifying results Team Penske has dominated this event over the years,Read More
By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer INDIANAPOLIS— NTT IndyCar Series qualifying on road and street courses can produce some interesting results and Jack Harvey proved that by qualifying third for Saturday’s INDYCAR Grand Prix at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. The No. 60 AutoNation/SiriusXM Honda for Meyer Shank Racing was fourth fastest in the first group of round one of qualifying and set the third fastest time in the second round of knockout qualifying, advancing to the Firestone Fast Six. The twice runner-up in the Indy Lights presented by Cooper TiresRead More
By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief Harding Steinbrenner Racing announced that GESS International will serve as the primary sponsor for the No. 88 Honda entry driven by NTT IndyCar Series rookie Colton Herta. The partnership will include this weekend’s INDYCAR Grand Prix, the 103rd Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge and a “variety of other races” throughout 2019. GESS signed on as a primary sponsor for the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park and also served as an associate sponsor for the Acura Grand Prix ofRead More
By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief INDIANAPOLIS – Zachary Claman De Melo has been officially announced as the replacement for the injured Pietro Fittipaldi at Dale Coyne Racing for the 102nd Running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil. After making his Verizon IndyCar Series debut at ISM Raceway (formerly Phoenix International Raceway) last month, Fittipaldi was originally slated to make his first run at the Brickyard. However, he was injured after a heavy crash during FIA World Endurance Championship qualifying for the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps in Belguim onRead More
By Aaron Bearden, Contributing Writer Simon Pagenaud’s yellow Menards livery is already the brightest in the Verizon IndyCar Series paddock. But after another unfortunate run-in – this time on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course – the Frenchman fears he may need to resort to an even brighter hue for his No. 22 Chevrolet. “I guess my car isn’t bright enough,” Pagenaud joked after the race. “It seems like people keep running into it.” Pagenaud rolled off seventh in the INDYCAR Grand Prix, but quickly found himself mired at the back ofRead More
By Aaron Bearden, Contributing Writer Zachary Claman de Melo isn’t sure if he’ll be in the No. 19 Honda for the Indianapolis 500. But the rookie made his case for a Month of May drive with his best Verizon IndyCar Series performance to date on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. Claman de Melo avoided any on-track incidents and put together a consistent drive to earn a career-best 12th-place finish in Saturday’s INDYCAR Grand Prix. “I’m really happy with the result,” he told Motorsports Tribune. “We probably could have beenRead More
By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Will Power etched his name further into the INDYCAR Grand Prix record books while extending the legacy of team owner Roger Penske in Indy car history. Power won the Verizon IndyCar Series race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course for the second straight year and third time overall – each victory coming from the pole position. Power’s triumph by 2.2443 seconds over Scott Dixon also marked Indy car win No. 200 for Team Penske, nearly double that of any other team. “It’s amazing,” said Power, driverRead More