John Potter Tag

By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer DETROIT — It all started with a first-turn wreck avoidance. It ended with a fourth place finish for John Potter and Andy Lally as Magnus Racing managed to finish fourth in Saturday’s Chevrolet Sports Car Classic for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. As Cooper MacNeil went underneath Ryan Hardwick in the first turn, the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari slid wide into the No. 48 Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini and Potter slowed enough to avoid the opening corner incident. “We just stayed clean, John had aRead More
By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer ELKHART LAKE, Wisconsin — Magnus Racing has been on a roll lately in the IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship and rolled into Road America by setting the fastest class time in the first practice session ahead of Sunday’s Continental Tire Road Race Showcase. Andy Lally managed to bring the Audi R8 LMS GT3 around the 4.048 mile natural terrain road course with a GT Daytona (GTD) class-leading lap of 2 minutes, 7.048 seconds for an average speed of 114.702 mph. For Magnus Racing, this part ofRead More
By IMSA Wire Service BOWMANVILLE, ONTARIO, CANADA – Some IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship races are won on the track and some are won in the pits. During Sunday’s Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park (CTMP), it was a case of the latter for the winning No. 67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT of Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook in the GT Le Mans (GTLM) class. After starting second – one week after collecting the pole position at Watkins Glen International – the No. 67 pacedRead More
By Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Appropriately enough, after 24 hours of seemingly non-stop action, the fastest car still running was the overall winner of the Rolex 24 at Daytona. Luis Felipe “Pipo” Derani, a baby-faced 22-year old racing prodigy from Brazil, took the checkered flag on Sunday afternoon in the No. 2 Tequila Patron ESM Honda-powered Ligier JS P2, 26.166 seconds ahead of 2005 overall winner Max Angelleli in the No. 10 Wayne Taylor Racing Corvette DP. Derani brought home victory for teammates Scott Sharp,Read More