Photo: Courtesy of IMSA

12 Hours of Sebring Class Preview: GTLM

By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer

The Mobil 1 12 Hours of Sebring concludes 36 hours of endurance racing for the 2018 IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship and the class with the fewest changes is the GTLM class. Let’s take a look at the nine car class.

Corvette Racing has two C7.R machines ready to tackle Sebring and with it there are no driver lineup changes to ether car. The No. 3 C7.R of Antonio Garcia, Jan Magnussen and Mike Rockenfeller are looking to repeat their class win from 2017 while Oliver Gavin, Tommy Milner and Marcel Fässler want to repeat their class win of 2016 in the No. 4 C7.R machine. Corvette Racing also won in 2015 with Magnussen and Garcia and in 2013 with Gavin and Milner.

BMW Team RLL have two BMW M8 GTE cars entered with each car losing a driver from the Rolex 24. The No. 24 will not have Augusto Farfus while the No. 25 will not have Phillip Eng. BMW last won Sebring in 2011 and 2012.

Ferrari have one entry for Risi Competizione in the No. 62 Ferrari 488 GTE. Davide Rigon departs the team for Sebring. The Houston, TX squad won Sebring in 2007, 2009 and 2010.

Ford have two entries at Sebring with the Nos. 66 and 67 Ford GTs having no changes to their driver lineup. The Blue Oval have three overall wins at Sebring with the Ford GT back in 1966, 1967 and 1969.

Porsche have two 911 RSR cars entered for Sebring with the Nos. 911 and 912 cars having no driver changes between Daytona and Sebring. Porsche’s last GTLM win at Sebring was in 2014 and as a manufacturer they have the most wins at the 12 Hours of Sebring with 18 overall victories including each year from 1976-1988.

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

A 2012 graduate of LSU, Christopher DeHarde primarily focuses on the NTT IndyCar Series and the WeatherTech Sports Car Championship. DeHarde has actively covered motorsports since 2014.