Alex Bowman signs with JR Motorsports for nine XFINITY races in 2016

By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Alex Bowman has signed a deal with JR Motorsports to pilot the No. 88 Chevrolet in the XFINITY Series for the 2016 season.

Bowman, 22, is currently running in his second full season at NASCAR’s top level in the No. 7 Chevrolet for Tommy Baldwin Jr.

The Tuscon, Arizona native ran two races with JR Motorsports last season, finishing 12th at Charlotte and 17th at Phoenix. Bowman also jumped on with JR Motorsports in the Camping World Truck Series, finishing 11th in his only career NCWTS start.

The No. 88 will have several drivers behind the wheel next season in addition to Bowman, including Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

With no current sponsor announced, the 22-year-old is scheduled to run Dover (2), Iowa, New Hampshire, Watkins Glen, Mid-Ohio, Richmond and Phoenix.

“Alex is a very strong addition to our team,” said Kelley Earnhardt Miller, general manager of JR Motorsports.  “That’s evident from the talent he’s displayed in the Xfinity Series and at the Cup level.  Given that he has already raced for JR Motorsports, this is a natural fit.  The 88 team has set the bar high and we’re confident it will continue that trend with Alex in 2016.”

In 41 career XFINITY Series starts, Bowman has two poles, two top 5’s and six top 10’s.

“This is such a great opportunity,” said Bowman.  “Being able to race in top-notch equipment with a team like JR Motorsports is all I could ask for, really.  I had a good experience driving for them in the past and I know we’ll be competing for wins next year.  That’s a great feeling.”

Image: Andrew Weber-USA TODAY Sports

Tags : , , , , ,

Joey Barnes is the Founder of Motorsports Tribune. He has covered auto racing since 2013 that has spanned from Formula 1 to NASCAR, with coverage on IndyCar. Additionally, his work has appeared on Racer, and Autoweek magazine. In 2017, he was recognized with an award in Spot News Writing by the National Motorsports Press Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *