Photo: Christian Koelle/Frontstretch

David Gilliland Scores Truck Series Pole at Talladega

By David Morgan, NASCAR Editor

TALLADEGA, Ala. – David Gilliland showed the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series field how it’s done in qualifying for Saturday’s Fr8Auctions 250 at Talladega, putting his No. 51 Toyota on the pole with a lap of 53.032 seconds, 180.570 mph.

In addition to winning the pole, Gilliland had a new member of the family in tow, Winston, the family dog, who was adopted by the Gilliland family earlier in the week.

“It’s a very special weekend,” said Gilliland. “Obviously a weekend that we’ll remember forever with Winston and then also being able to race with my son, Todd, in his first ever superspeedway race is super special. Can’t thank KBM, Toyota, and Pedigree for the opportunity to come out here and race with him and let alone get it started from the pole.”

Gilliland will be joined on the front row by Spencer Gallagher, who led the way in final Truck Series practice earlier in the day Friday.

“It was a great time out there with our Allegiant Travel Chevrolet,” said Gallagher. “Held back a little bit in the first round. Only put the throttle most of the way down. Told myself in the second round I should put it all the way down, so that’s exactly what I did and we picked up good speed.

“We’ve had great speed since we unloaded here with his No. 2 team. It seems like no matter which vehicle I get in, these GMS guys show up and they bring something to play with every single weekend. My hat’s off to them. GMS and GMS Fab, they’re the ones that make them go fast. We just turn them left.”

The remainder of the top-12 qualifiers were Timothy Peters, Grant Enfinger, Johnny Sauter, Todd Gilliland, Joe Nemechek, Brett Moffitt, Matt Crafton, Austin Hill, Stewart Friesen, and Bo Lemastus.

LeMastus had qualified higher than 12th, but his lap in the final round of qualifying was disallowed after he dipped below the yellow line on the frontstretch.

Five of the top-12 qualifiers were Playoff drivers, with Noah Gragson (13th), Ben Rhodes (14th), and Justin Haley (16th) the only Playoff drivers that did not make the final round of qualifying.

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

David Morgan is the Associate Editor for Motorsports Tribune. A 2008 graduate from the University of Mississippi, David has followed NASCAR since the early 90’s and became hooked at an early age after attending his first race at Talladega Superspeedway in 1993. He has traveled across the country since 2012 to cover some of the most prestigious events both IndyCar and NASCAR have to offer, with an aim to only expand on that in the near future.