Photo: Chris Owens/ASP, Inc.
Photo: Chris Owens/ASP, Inc.

Erik Jones Takes the Pole for Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Playoff Opener

By Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service

LAS VEGAS – Before Friday’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series knockout qualifying session at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Erik Jones considered himself a sleeper entering the first race of the Playoffs.

That was before the driver of the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota announced his presence by winning the pole for Sunday’s opening postseason race, the South Point 400.

Jones toured the 1.5-mile intermediate speedway in 28.705 seconds (188.121 mph) to earn his first Busch Pole Award of the season and the second of his career by .003 seconds over Team Penske driver Joey Logano (188.101 mph).

“I knew we had a good car in practice, but I didn’t know if we’d get the pole,” Jones said. “The track kind of came to us, and I thought I knew what we needed to do adjustment-wise. We got the (car) where it needed to be and put together a really good lap.

“You can’t start them off any better than that. We have a long ways to go this weekend but we got the speed to do it… I feel like we’ve been kind of under the radar. We’ve been running really well, and we’ve just got to put it together for one really good race. I think we can do that. We’re one to watch.”

Jones’ JGR teammate, Denny Hamlin, qualified third at 187.624 mph, followed by Kyle Busch (187.402 mph) and Kevin Harvick (187.396 mph), as Playoff drivers claimed the top 11 starting positions. The only interloper to make the final round was Jamie McMurray, who ended up 12th after hard contact with the outside wall on his money lap.

With Playoff driver Brad Keselowski having won the last two races and Logano showing excellent speed in all three qualifying rounds, Logano said he was encouraged by his performance in time trials.

“I feel like the field’s pretty close, and I feel comfortable about my car,” Logano said. “I think the Penske cars are all fairly quick, and we’ll work on it some more (in Saturday’s practice).”

Penske teammate Ryan Blaney was sixth fastest in the final round. Keselowski will start 13th after failing to advance to the final round by .001 seconds. In addition to Keselowski, Playoff drivers who will start outside the top 12 are: Clint Bowyer (15th), Aric Almirola (16th), Jimmie Johnson (17th) and Austin Dillon (18th).

Playoff drivers Chase Elliott, Kurt Busch, Alex Bowman, Martin Truex Jr. and Kyle Larson occupy the seventh through 11th positions on the starting grid, respectively. Truex and Kyle Busch each had to make two runs in Round 2 to bump their way into the final 12.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying – South Point 400

1. (20) Erik Jones (P), Toyota, 188.121 mph.

2. (22) Joey Logano (P), Ford, 188.101 mph.

3. (11) Denny Hamlin (P), Toyota, 187.624 mph.

4. (18) Kyle Busch (P), Toyota, 187.402 mph.

5. (4) Kevin Harvick (P), Ford, 187.396 mph.

6. (12) Ryan Blaney (P), Ford, 187.084 mph.

7. (9) Chase Elliott (P), Chevrolet, 186.735 mph.

8. (41) Kurt Busch (P), Ford, 186.483 mph.

9. (88) Alex Bowman (P), Chevrolet, 186.374 mph.

10. (78) Martin Truex Jr. (P), Toyota, 186.098 mph.

11. (42) Kyle Larson (P), Chevrolet, 185.950 mph.

12. (1) Jamie McMurray, Chevrolet, 183.125 mph.

13. (2) Brad Keselowski (P), Ford, 186.619 mph.

14. (17) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 186.599 mph.

15. (14) Clint Bowyer (P), Ford, 186.580 mph.

16. (10) Aric Almirola (P), Ford, 186.548 mph.

17. (48) Jimmie Johnson (P), Chevrolet, 186.509 mph.

18. (3) Austin Dillon (P), Chevrolet, 186.483 mph.

19. (19) Daniel Suarez, Toyota, 186.451 mph.

20. (21) Paul Menard, Ford, 186.432 mph.

21. (24) William Byron #, Chevrolet, 186.400 mph.

22. (31) Ryan Newman, Chevrolet, 185.861 mph.

23. (6) Trevor Bayne, Ford, 185.644 mph.

24. (34) Michael McDowell, Ford, 184.913 mph.

25. (95) Regan Smith, Chevrolet, 185.185 mph.

26. (32) Matt DiBenedetto, Ford, 184.938 mph.

27. (38) David Ragan, Ford, 184.723 mph.

28. (37) Chris Buescher, Chevrolet, 184.660 mph.

29. (47) AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 184.603 mph.

30. (13) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, 184.231 mph.

31. (43) Bubba Wallace #, Chevrolet, 182.815 mph.

32. (72) Corey LaJoie, Chevrolet, 180.662 mph.

33. (99) Kyle Weatherman, Chevrolet, 180.584 mph.

34. (15) Ross Chastain(i), Chevrolet, 180.337 mph.

35. (96) Jeffrey Earnhardt, Toyota, 179.976 mph.

36. (23) JJ Yeley(i), Toyota, 179.432 mph.

37. (00) Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, 178.283 mph.

38. (51) BJ McLeod(i), Ford, 177.538 mph.

39. (66) Timmy Hill(i), Toyota, 176.085 mph.

40. (7) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet, 0.000 mph.

Tags : , , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.