FIA Formula 4 launched in the USA

Amid the backdrop of this week’s FIA World Endurance Championship event at the Circuit of the Americas, SCCA Pro Racing and its partners unveiled plans for a new championship to begin in 2016

The American championship will use a locally-developed Crawford chassis and a 2.0-litre Honda engine producing the category-specified 160 PS – both of which are currently undergoing the FIA Formula 4 homologation process.

As testament to the continued global growth and acceptance of FIA Formula 4, the US series will join championships already established in Australia, Japan, Germany, the United Kingdom, Italy, China, and Northern Europe – with new championships set to be launched in Mexico, South East Asia and Spain in the near future.

Stefano Domenicali, President, FIA Single-Seater Commission, says the introduction to the United States is a logical step for FIA Formula 4 and American racing.

“Given the global reach of FIA Formula 4, it is both natural and essential that the category arrives in the United States,” said Mr Domenicali.

“It is obviously a huge motor sport market with a proud and rich history that, perhaps because of its prolific national racing scene, has been under-represented in World Championship motor sport.

“FIA Formula 4 occupies a very important role on the FIA’s single-seater pyramid towards the pinnacle of motor sport; that of being the first step out of Karting, which then leads to Formula 3, Formula 2 and then hopefully, Formula 1.

“The nature of FIA Formula 4 is a national championship, meaning that driver entries are only allowed from the country in which it is run – as a result it is a way of specifically developing young American talent.

“By introducing Formula 4 to the US, the hope is that more Americans get experience that proves valuable as they look to develop their career locally or overseas.

“On behalf of the FIA, I must thank everybody at ACCUS and SCCA Pro Racing, as well as their partners for bringing FIA Formula 4 to the United States.”

The regulations for FIA Formula 4 are based on four pillars, with the aim for each championship to provide:

– consistent organisational standards
– technical fairness
– sporting relevance
– ongoing stability – specifically through cost containment by implementing the key measure of establishing fixed costs for chassis and parts.

F4 allows drivers to compare themselves to the best young talent around the world by establishing similar racing experiences and standards at a national level.

Open to drivers 15 years of age and above, the FIA’s new entry-level single-seater class is organised by FIA-affiliated National Sporting Authorities (ASN), such as ACCUS, with support from sponsors and suppliers.


Tags : , , , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *