FIA reveals largest provisional F1 schedule

The FIA has released a record 21-race schedule for the 2016 Formula 1 season. The calendar features several changes, including a new circuit, Baku, in Azerbaijan.

The 3.75-mile street circuit will host the European Grand Prix for the first time ever in July.

The 2016 season will start later than usual, with the Australian Grand Prix not set to kickoff until April 3. Malaysia swaps with Sochi, with the Russian Grand Prix moving to May 1 and the Malaysian Grand Prix taking place on September 25, a week after Singapore.

Despite being cancelled this year, the German Grand Prix is slotted to be on July 31, but it is not confirmed if the race will take place at Hockenheim or Nurburgring.

All in all, there are seven back-to-back races this season – Australia/China, Bahrain/Russia, Britain/Austria, Germany/Hungary, Belgium/Italy, Singapore/Malaysia and United States/Mexico.

2016 Provisional Calendar

April 3 – Australia
April 10 – China
April 24 – Bahrain
May 1 – Russia
May 15 – Spain
May 29 – Monaco
June 12 – Canada
June 26 – Britain
July 3 – Austria
July 17 – Europe (Baku)
July 31 – Germany (Circuit TBA)
August 7 – Hungary
August 28 – Belgium
September 4 – Italy
September 18 – Singapore
September 25 – Malaysia
October 9 – Japan
October 23 – USA (Austin)
October 30 – Mexico
November 13 – Brazil
November 27 – Abu Dhabi

Image: Alastair Staley/Williams

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Joey Barnes is the Founder of Motorsports Tribune. He has covered auto racing since 2013 that has spanned from Formula 1 to NASCAR, with coverage on IndyCar. Additionally, his work has appeared on Racer, and Autoweek magazine. In 2017, he was recognized with an award in Spot News Writing by the National Motorsports Press Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *