Hamilton Continues to Set the Pace in Canada

After topping the morning session at Montreal’s Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Lewis Hamilton doubled up in second free practice in Canada, beating Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel to top spot by 0.25s.

Hamilton’s best time, on the ultrasoft compound Pirelli tyres, was a 1:14.212, almost two tenths of a second up on his pole position time of 2015.

Vettel pressed the defending champion hard though. In the opening session the German was half a second adrift of his Mercedes rivals but on ultrasofts Vettel powered to a lap of 1:14.469 to get to within three tenths of a second of Hamilton.

Nico Rosberg was third quickest for Mercedes but he ended the session over a hald a second behind his team-mate. Behind the Mercedes and the quickest Ferrari, fourth and fifth places went to Red Bull Racing, with Max Verstappen ahead of Daniel Ricciardo by one hundredth of a second. However, while the gap between the team-mates was slight, they were almost a full second off the pace of Hamilton’s P1 time.

Sixth place went to Valtteri Bottas, with the Williams driver setting a time of 1:15.213, a time exactly matched by McLaren’s Jenson Button, who took seventh owing to setting his time after Bottas.

Button’s time came after a troubled morning session in which he turned just eight laps due to a power unit issue. The Briton made a delayed entry to the action after his power unit was changed but once on track he made the most of the new engine to match Bottas and to outpace Ferrari’s eighth-placed Kimi Raikkonen by 0.021s.

Nico Hulkenberg and Carlos Sainz completed the top ten ahead of Fernando Alonso, Sergio Perez and Felipe Massa. Massa managed 44 laps in the second session having crashed out in FP1.

2016 Canadian Grand Prix – Free Practice 2
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:14.212 43
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:14.469 +0.257 45
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:14.738 +0.526 46
4 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing 1:15.156 +0.944 29
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:15.168 +0.956 43
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:15.213 +1.001 46
7 Jenson Button McLaren 1:15.213 +1.001 35
8 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1:15.234 +1.022 43
9 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:15.321 +1.109 50
10 Carlos Sainz Jr. Toro Rosso 1:15.410 +1.198 42
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1:15.450 +1.238 40
12 Sergio Perez Force India 1:15.493 +1.281 47
13 Felipe Massa Williams 1:15.513 +1.301 44
14 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:15.559 +1.347 42
15 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:16.093 +1.881 35
16 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1:16.255 +2.043 39
17 Felipe Nasr Sauber 1:16.582 +2.370 40
18 Esteban Gutierrez Haas 1:16.591 +2.379 32
19 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:16.902 +2.690 51
20 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1:17.001 +2.789 48
21 Pascal Wehrlein Manor 1:17.023 +2.811 32
22 Rio Haryanto Manor 1:17.423 +3.211 49


Tags : , , , , , , , , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *