Hemric Streaks to First Career NASCAR Cup Pole at Kansas

By Reid Spencer, NASCAR Wire Service

Daniel Hemric may be out of the Playoffs and out of his ride at Richard Childress racing next year, but that didn’t stop the driver of the No. 8 RCR Chevrolet from winning the pole position for Sunday’s Hollywood Casino 400 at Kansas Speedway (2:30 p.m. ET on NBC, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

In Saturday’s time trials for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Round of 12 elimination race, Hemric covered the 1.5-mile distance in 30.329 seconds (178.047 mph) to earn the top starting spot, not to mention his first career Busch Pole Award, by .035 seconds over second-place David Ragan (177.842 mph).

“Yeah, it’s pretty special,” acknowledged Hemric, who recently learned he would not be retained by RCR next year. “I kind of just feel crazy. I got out of the car, and I thought I’d be maybe fifth to eighth but, man, these guys on this Caterpillar Camaro ZL1 have done a great job all year of no matter what’s thrown at us, kind of just rising to the occasion and showing back up at the race track every week ready to work.

“And with all that going on, there’s so much going on around us, that you can get lost in the distraction of things. But to know these guys have continued to have my back through all that stuff has meant the world to me. So congratulations to ECR (Earnhardt-Childress Racing engines) and RCR. They’ve been doing a great job for us all year. It’s cool to be the guy to steer it around the line there and get the quick time.”

Ryan Blaney, who qualified third at 177.754 mph was the top Playoff driver on the grid. Blaney is already locked into the Round of 8 in the Playoffs by virtue of last Monday’s victory at Talladega. Brad Keselowski (177.667 mph) will start fourth beside his Team Penske teammate.

Dover winner Kyle Larson earned the fifth starting spot in the No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet. Blaney, Keselowski and Larson are the only three Playoff drivers to earn top-10 spots on the grid. Two-time Kansas winner and Playoff contender Martin Truex Jr. will start 11th in the top-qualifying Toyota.

Other Playoff contenders qualified as follows: Chase Elliott 14th, Alex Bowman 16th, Kyle Busch 18th, Clint Bowyer 21st, Denny Hamlin 23rd, William Byron 25th, Joey Logano 29th and Kevin Harvick 40th. After three inspection failures, Harvick was not allowed to make a qualifying run, and car chief Robert Smith was ejected from the track.

“I have to pass a lot of cars,” Harvick said. “It is what it is at this point. You just go out and try to strategize and plan what you can and try to pass as many cars when you can at the beginning and go from there.”

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Qualifying – 19th Annual Hollywood Casino 400

Kansas Speedway

Kansas City, Kansas

Saturday, October 19, 2019

  1. (8) Daniel Hemric #, Chevrolet, 178.047 mph.
  2. (38) David Ragan, Ford, 177.842 mph.
  3. (12) Ryan Blaney (P) @, Ford, 177.754 mph.
  4. (2) Brad Keselowski (P) @, Ford, 177.667 mph.
  5. (42) Kyle Larson (P) @, Chevrolet, 177.637 mph.
  6. (34) Michael McDowell, Ford, 177.585 mph.
  7. (6) Ryan Newman, Ford, 177.497 mph.
  8. (41) Daniel Suarez, Ford, 177.363 mph.
  9. (3) Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 177.352 mph.
  10. (43) Bubba Wallace, Chevrolet, 177.328 mph.
  11. (19) Martin Truex Jr. (P) @, Toyota, 177.258 mph.
  12. (48) Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 177.253 mph.
  13. (10) Aric Almirola, Ford, 177.189 mph.
  14. (9) Chase Elliott (P) @, Chevrolet, 177.067 mph.
  15. (1) Kurt Busch, Chevrolet, 176.945 mph.
  16. (88) Alex Bowman (P) @, Chevrolet, 176.933 mph.
  17. (36) Matt Tifft #, Ford, 176.794 mph.
  18. (18) Kyle Busch (P) @, Toyota, 176.771 mph.
  19. (17) Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Ford, 176.626 mph.
  20. (20) Erik Jones, Toyota, 176.615 mph.
  21. (14) Clint Bowyer (P) @, Ford, 176.442 mph.
  22. (21) Paul Menard, Ford, 176.401 mph.
  23. (11) Denny Hamlin (P) @, Toyota, 176.292 mph.
  24. (13) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet, 176.275 mph.
  25. (24) William Byron (P) @, Chevrolet, 175.655 mph.
  26. (37) Chris Buescher, Chevrolet, 175.308 mph.
  27. (95) Matt DiBenedetto, Toyota, 174.876 mph.
  28. (47) Ryan Preece #, Chevrolet, 174.870 mph.
  29. (22) Joey Logano (P) @, Ford, 174.689 mph.
  30. (00) Landon Cassill(i), Chevrolet, 174.171 mph.
  31. (32) Corey LaJoie, Ford, 173.712 mph.
  32. (96) Parker Kligerman(i), Toyota, 172.651 mph.
  33. (15) Ross Chastain(i), Chevrolet, 172.166 mph.
  34. (27) Reed Sorenson, Chevrolet, 172.095 mph.
  35. (52) Garrett Smithley(i), Ford, 172.051 mph.
  36. (51) JJ Yeley(i), Ford, 171.461 mph.
  37. (53) Josh Bilicki(i), Ford, 169.881 mph.
  38. (77) Timmy Hill(i), Chevrolet, 168.334 mph.
  39. (66) Joey Gase, Toyota, 162.700 mph.
  40. (4) Kevin Harvick (P) @, Ford, 0.000 mph.

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.