Photo: Andretti Autosport

hhgregg joins Marco Andretti and Andretti Autosport for 2017

By Josh Farmer, IndyCar Reporter

Andretti Autosport announced that hhgregg will serve as a co-primary sponsor  of the No. 27 Honda driven by Marco Andretti starting in 2017.

The Indianapolis-based electronics retailer will also serve as a team wide sponsor of Andretti Autosport in the Verizon IndyCar Series as part of the multi-year agreement.

The company previously served as an associate sponsor for the team at the Honda Grand Prix of Alabama in April of this year.

“Our relationship with Andretti Autosport and Marco has been incredibly successful for both sides,” said hhgregg CEO, Bob Riesbeck. “As hhgregg continues to strive to deliver best-in-class product offerings, prices and customer service, we’re thrilled to be so closely connected with a brand that stands for excellence in its field as well. We’ve had a great experience with Marco and the team and are excited to be building a future together.”

The announcement also confirms that Marco Andretti has re-signed with Andretti Autosport for the 2017 season. He was in the last year of his contract this year. Ryan Hunter-Reay is the only other driver confirmed for the team’s 2017 lineup as Carlos Munoz and 2016 Indianapolis 500 champion Alexander Rossi have yet to re-sign.

It is known that Rossi is weighing his options for the 2017 season, which includes a possible return to Formula 1 where he serves as a reserve driver for Manor F1.

“I am especially proud of this partnership,” said veteran Indy car driver Marco Andretti. “I can’t wait to kick off the 2017 season with hhgregg and continue to build on the relationship that we worked together to start earlier this year.”

The car is also void of any Dr. Pepper and Snapple logos. An Andretti Autosport spokesperson confirmed to the Motorsports Tribune that the company is evaluating its future with the team.

Tags : , , ,

Josh Farmer joined the media center in 2012 after first discovering his love of IndyCar racing in 2004 at Auto Club Speedway. He has been an accredited member of the IndyCar media center since 2014 and also contributes to along with The Motorsports Tribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *