JR Motorsports adds six-race primary sponsor for Bowman, Custer

By Toby Christie, NASCAR Editor

The sponsorship picture is becoming much more clear for JR Motorsports as we close in on the start of the 2016 NASCAR XFINITY Series season. We already know that the No. 1 and No. 7 teams, which are to be driven by Elliott Sadler and Justin Allgaier, have a full slate of sponsorship. Friday, the team announced that they have struck a deal with Cessna, which will fill six races of primary sponsorship on their third entry, the No. 88 Chevrolet Camaro.

“We are looking forward to representing Cessna on both the business and competition front,” said Kelley Earnhardt Miller, general manager of JR Motorsports. “Cessna is a strong and leading brand and our business strategies complement one another. Together we have a unique partnership with tremendous potential for growth.”

Cessna will be on the car for five of Alex Bowman’s nine starts for the team, as well as one of Cole Custer’s five starts. The deal also will make Cessna an associate level sponsor in two races that Earnhardt is behind the wheel of the car this season, and it also makes the aircraft company the Official Business Jet Choice of Dale Earnhardt Jr.

“Cessna Citation business jets are designed for speed and efficiency, two trademarks valued by Dale Earnhardt Jr. and his team at JR Motorsports. We’re looking forward to the relationship with JRM that will demonstrate those qualities as Dale travels in the Citation this season to races and events across the country,” said Scott Ernest, president and CEO of Textron Aviation.

The races that you can see Cessna on the hood of the No. 88 are: Michigan International Speedway (June 11), Iowa Speedway (June 19), Kentucky Speedway (July 8), Richmond International Raceway (Sept. 9), Dover International Speedway (Oct. 1) and Phoenix International Raceway (Nov. 12).

Cessna now joins TaxSlayer, Hunt Brothers Pizza, Hellman’s, Bad Boy Buggies, SunEnergy1 and Speedco in filling out the schedule for the No. 88 XFINITY Series team in 2016. The car will be driven by an all-star cast of drivers including: Earnhardt, Bowman, Custer, Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne, Chase Elliott, Kenny Habul and Josh Berry.

Image: JR Motorsports

Tags : , , , , , , , , ,

Toby Christie is a contributing writer for Motorsports Tribune. He has been watching stock cars turn left since 1993, and has covered NASCAR as an accredited media member since 2007. Toby is a proud member of the National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA). Additionally, Toby is a lifelong Miami Dolphins fan, sub-par guitarist and he is pretty good around a mini-golf course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *