Photo: Cape Motorsports

Kyle Kirkwood Joins Cape Motorsports for 2018 USF2000 Campaign

By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer

The 2017 F4 U.S. champion has a home in the Mazda Road to Indy presented by Cooper Tires.

Kyle Kirkwood drove for Cape Motorsports in 2017 and will have an opportunity to compete for them again in the 2018 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship powered by Mazda.

Kirkwood was a recipient of the Team USA Scholarship program with fellow Jupiter, Fl. native Oliver Askew. The pair have raced against each other in karting for years.

“We started this journey with Kyle over a year ago, with the objective to win the F4 Championship in 2017, job cracked,” said team owners  Nicholas and Dominic Cape in a team statement.

“Then, the plan going forward was to move Kyle into USF2000 for 2018 and challenge for the championship. A lot of things happened over the winter and we weren’t 100% sure, as a group, that was going to happen. A big thank you the people who have helped see this come to fruition, because without their support, I’m not sure it would have, but I guarantee you as a group we’ll come out swinging. Let’s get it on!”

Cape Motorsports has won the last seven USF2000 championships with Askew, Anthony Martin, Nico Jamin, Florian Latorre, Scott Hargrove, Matthew Brabham and Petri Suvanto behind the wheel and are looking to expand that list with Kirkwood.

“It’s truly an honor to join with Cape Motorsports for the second year around,” offered Kirkwood in a team release. “We had such a great 2017 season and to be able to keep that momentum rolling is awesome. It’s always tough learning a new car and a new series, but being with a team that I am very comfortable with and know so well will make the transition very easy.”

There are now 16 drivers confirmed for the 2018 USF2000 season.

Tags : , , , , , , ,

A 2012 graduate of LSU, Christopher DeHarde primarily focuses on the NTT IndyCar Series and the WeatherTech Sports Car Championship. DeHarde has actively covered motorsports since 2014.