Lineup set for Sprint Unlimited at Daytona

By Toby Christie, NASCAR Editor

Sometimes crew chiefs don’t get their full due in the sport of NASCAR. That wasnt the case Friday at Daytona International Speedway as crew chiefs were at the forefront of how the grid for Saturday night’s Sprint Unlimited was decided.

The exhibition event’s starting lineup was decided by a random draw from the crew chiefs of the teams eligible to compete.

Chad Knaus, Jimmie Johnson’s crew chief, nabbed the pole position for the race. Johnson has won at Daytona three times in his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career, and he is the 2005 champion of this event.

Brad Keselowski will lineup alongside Johnson in the second spot, AJ Allmendinger will start third. Kyle Larson and Ryan Newman will round out the top-five starters for Saturday night.

Here is the full starting lineup for the 2016 Sprint Unlimited:

1. 48-Jimmie Johnson

2. 2-Brad Keselowski

3. 47-AJ Allmendinger

4. 42-Kyle Larson

5. 31- Ryan Newman

6. 13-Casey Mears

7. 78-Martin Truex Jr.

8. 15-Clint Bowyer

9. 18-Kyle Busch

10. 3-Austin Dillon

11. 17-Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

12. 10-Danica Patrick

13. 20-Matt Kenseth

14. 27-Paul Menard

15. 11-Denny Hamlin

16. 16-Greg Biffle

17. 43-Aric Almirola

18. 14-Brian Vickers

19. 19-Carl Edwards

20. 5-Kasey Kahne

21. 41-Kurt Busch

22. 4-Kevin Harvick

23. 88-Dale Earnhardt Jr.

24. 1-Jamie McMurray

25. 22-Joey Logano

Image: Jonathan Ferrey/NASCAR via Getty Images

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Toby Christie is a contributing writer for Motorsports Tribune. He has been watching stock cars turn left since 1993, and has covered NASCAR as an accredited media member since 2007. Toby is a proud member of the National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA). Additionally, Toby is a lifelong Miami Dolphins fan, sub-par guitarist and he is pretty good around a mini-golf course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *