Photo: Haas F1 Team

Magnussen, Ocon Disqualified from U.S. GP

By Joey Barnes, Editor-in-Chief

AUSTIN, Texas — Kevin Magnussen and Esteban Ocon have been disqualified from the United States Grand Prix due to separate violations of the Formula One fuel regulations.

The result cost both drivers valuable points as Ocon and Magnussen provisionally finished the 56-lap race eighth and ninth, respectively.

However, the No. 31 Racing Point Force India of Ocon was in breach of the fuel-flow limit, which is set to 100 kg/hr on the opening lap. Team boss Otmar Szafnauer gave his take over the subject.

“What happened was, there was a spike of flow and then a trough,” Szafnauer said, moments prior to the FIA’s decision. “So if you look at it over a lap it was neutral. If you look at it over a lap there’s no infringement.

“For example, there’s track limits and if you go outside the track limits — which you shouldn’t do — and you haven’t gained an advantage they do nothing. If you haven’t gained an advantage, they do nothing. This is another limit where we haven’t gained an advantage.”

Meanwhile, the No. 20 Haas F1 Team machine of Magnussen was deemed of consuming too much fuel during the race.

“I would say it was a steady race,” Magnessen said. “The car was very good. We had good pace and I was able to put pressure on the Force Indias. I passed (Sergio) Perez just after the pit stop and I was faster than Ocon, but I had to save so much fuel that I couldn’t afford to attack him. It’s a shame that we have fuel saving in Formula One and not being able to attack.

“At the end of the day, what the fans want to see is great racing. We can’t do it because we have to save fuel. It’s disappointing.”

Both teams have the right to appeal due to the ruling decision from the stewards. As it stands, the results pushed Perez (No. 11 Racing Point Force India) up from 10th to eighth, while Brendon Hartley (No. 28 Red Bull Toro Rosso) and Marcus Ericsson (No. 9 Alfa Romeo Sauber) move up to ninth and 10th.

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Joey Barnes is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Motorsports Tribune. He has covered auto racing since 2013 that has spanned from Formula 1 to NASCAR, with coverage on IndyCar. Additionally, his work has appeared on Racer, and Autoweek magazine. In 2017, he was recognized with an award in Spot News Writing by the National Motorsports Press Association.