Parker Kligerman on pole for Lucas Oil Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200

Parker Kligerman, in the No. 05 Athenian Motorsports-Jive Chevrolet, won the Menards Pole presented by Ansell Friday afternoon at Lucas Oil Raceway for tonight’s Sioux Chief PowerPEX 200 presented by Jive.

Kligerman, who was also fastest in the first practice session earlier, circled the .686-mile oval in 22.415 seconds, an average speed of 110.176 mph.

“We started the day off really loose,” Kligerman said. “They tested with Grant (Enfinger) when it was a lot cooler. This track is very temperature sensitive. We tried to keep the car tighter on the exit without hurting the center.

“It’s so hot today and we know the track’s going to change a lot for tonight. We’re going to have to be on our game tonight. We’ve already changed so much on the car. The 77, 28 and 22 are going to be our main competitors…we’ll give it our best. I ran a USAC Midget here once and a Truck. Love the track. I’m going to have to rely on Kevin Reed (crew chief). They have a lot more experience than I do here. The track’s going to get a lot tighter.”

Kligerman, in his only other ARCA start earlier this year, won the pole and race on the New Jersey Motorsports Park road course.

Kyle Benjamin, who was fastest in final practice, qualified second at 22.491 seconds (109.804 mph). Benjamin, in the No. 28 MDM Hillman-Ranier Racing Chevrolet, finished second last time out at Iowa.

“Track’s going to change a lot tonight,” Benjamin said. “We tried to be a little loose for practice and we knew we’d be a little free in qualifying. It’s hard to adjust for this race tonight. We know the track’s going to tighten up…question is, how much?”

Benjamin’s teammate Travis Miller qualified third in the No. 8 Chevrolet. Miller, making his ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards debut, circled the Lucas Oil short track in 22.503 seconds (109.745 mph).

Rookie Bret Holmes, with ARCA champ Grant Enfinger crew-chiefing, qualified fourth in the No. 23 Southern States Bank-Veterans Oil Chevrolet.

Cunningham Motorsports’ Myatt Snider qualified fifth in the No. 22 Original Louisiana Hot Sauce Ford. Justin Haley qualified sixth in the No. 74 Braun Racing Chevrolet. Snider’s Cunningham teammate and point leader Chase Briscoe qualified seventh in the No. 77 Big Tine Ford. Fifteen-year-old Christian Eckes was the fastest among his Venturini Motorsports teammates, qualifying eighth in the No. 15 New York Bus Sales Toyota.

Chad Finley, in the only steel-bodied car in the top-10, qualified ninth in the No. 51 Auto Value Parts Stores-Air Lift Toyota. Venturini Motorsports’ Dalton Sargeant qualified 10th in the No. 55 Toyota Racing Development-Windows 10 Toyota.

Here’s the complete starting lineup.

  1. Parker Kligerman
  2. Kyle Benjamin
  3. Travis Miller
  4. Bret Holmes
  5. Myatt Snider
  6. Justin Haley
  7. Chase Briscoe
  8. Christian Eckes
  9. Chad Finley
  10. Dalton Sargeant
  11. Dylan Marti
  12. Brady Boswell
  13. Matt Kurzejewski
  14. Tom Hessert
  15. Gus Dean
  16. Brian Finney
  17. Josh Williams
  18. Ty Majeski
  19. A.J. Fike
  20. Bobby Gerhart
  21. Scott Reeves
  22. Thomas Praytor
  23. Rick Clifton
  24. Ray Ciccarelli
  25. Chris Bailey Jr.
  26. Dustin Knowles
  27. Mike Basham
  28. Richard Hauck
  29. Mike Senica
  30. Con Nicolopoulos
  31. Wayne Peterson
  32. Billy Alger
  33. Brad Smith

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *