Power hangs on for Firestone 600 pole

Will Power captured his 3rd consecutive pole at Texas Motor Speedway on a scorching hot Friday afternoon.

Power was the first one to qualify and laid down the law early with a two lap average of 218:519 mph that was untouchable by the rest of the grid. Team Penske teammates Juan Pablo Montoya and Helio Castroneves managed to land immediately behind their teammates while Simon Pagenaud patiently waited to fire the final bullet for Team Penske.

Pagenaud went out 17th and nearly overthrew his teammate, but came up just .017 shy and ended in second place. and breifly completed a Team Penske lockout of the top two rows.

“Yeah, I drew number one obviously this morning in the drivers meeting, I was a little worried about the conditions,” he said. “It kind of stayed consistent over the whole run of qualifying. I was really happy to get pole honestly. I felt if I could be in the top five, I’d be happy. Starting first, really happy about that.”

The pole moves Power to 4th on the all time pole list, tied with Penske stalwart Rick Mears.

Carlos Munoz was the last car in line and broke the Team Penske sweep with a 4th place qualifying performance, the fastest Honda in the field. Juan Montoya  rebounded from a poor performance in first practice to line up in 5th place and will be flanked by Graham Rahal on the outside.

Chip Ganassi Racing claimed the next three positions as Scott Dixon claimed seventh place followed by Tony Kanaan in eighth and Charlie Kimball in ninth place. James Jakes was the first to nearly brake up the Penske brigate as his first lap landed him in fourth place, but an overboost on his second lap slowed him to tenth place.

Last year’s race winner Ed Carpenter and CFH Racing teammate Josef Newgarden were near the bottom of the time sheets during this morning’s practice session and their struggled continued through qualifying as they will line up 14th and 15th, respectively.

Ryan Hunter-Reay was managed to qualify after crashing in this morning’s practice session, but was forced to take a conservative run and ended up in 21st place.

Firestone 600
Qualification Results
Pos. Car Driver Manufacturer Total Time Two-Lap Avg. Speed
1 1 Will Power Chevrolet 47.9140 218.519 MPH
2 22 Simon Pagenaud Chevrolet 47.9580 218.441 MPH
3 3 Helio Castroneves Chevrolet 48.0398 218.069 MPH
4 26 Carlos Munoz Honda 48.0923 217.831 MPH
5 2 Juan Pablo Montoya Chevrolet 48.1589 217.530 MPH
6 15 Graham Rahal Honda 48.1792 217.438 MPH
7 9 Scott Dixon Chevrolet 48.1853 217.411 MPH
8 10 Tony Kanaan Chevrolet 48.2016 217.337 MPH
9 83 Charlie Kimball Chevrolet 48.2047 217.323 MPH
10 8 Sage Karam (R) Chevrolet 48.2942 216.920 MPH
11 27 Marco Andretti Honda 48.3042 216.876 MPH
12 7 James Jakes Honda 48.3067 216.864 MPH
13 14 Takuma Sato Honda 48.3465 216.686 MPH
14 67 Josef Newgarden Chevrolet 48.4530 216.210 MPH
15 20 Ed Carpenter Chevrolet 48.4558 216.197 MPH
16 19 Tristan Vautier Honda 48.5160 215.929 MPH
17 41 Jack Hawksworth Honda 48.5853 215.621 MPH
18 11 Sebastien Bourdais Chevrolet 48.6569 215.303 MPH
19 5 Ryan Briscoe Honda 48.6888 215.162 MPH
20 98 Gabby Chaves (R) Honda 48.6926 215.146 MPH
21 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda 48.7198 215.026 MPH
22 18 Pippa Mann Honda 48.8041 214.654 MPH
23 4 Stefano Coletti (R) Chevrolet 49.4315 211.930 MPH

Image: Chris Owens via IndyCar

Tags : , , , , , ,

Josh Farmer joined the media center in 2012 after first discovering his love of IndyCar racing in 2004 at Auto Club Speedway. He has been an accredited member of the IndyCar media center since 2014 and also contributes to IndyCar.com along with The Motorsports Tribune.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *