Photo: Getty Images/Red Bull Content Pool

Ricciardo Continues to Set Pace in FP2 at Singapore

After leading the way in the first practice session in Singapore, Daniel Ricciardo doubled up with top spot in the evening session, beating Red Bull Racing team-mate Max Verstappen by over half a second.

The Australian driver set a best time of 1:40.852 on his qualifying simulation on ultrasoft tyres to finish 0.556s quicker than Verstappen. Championship leader Lewis Hamilton was third, a sizeable seven tenths off the pace.

After missing out on P1 in the opening session by just a tenth of a second, Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel finished the evening session in 11th position after failing to complete a qualifying style run during the 90 minutes.

The German set the quickest first sector on a first flying lap but after being blocked by a Sauber he abandoned the attempt. He then went for a second flier but in Turn 10 he momentarily lost control and hit the wall. After the close shave he reverted to longer runs and ended the session 2.2s off Ricciardo’s pace. Teammate Kimi Raikkonen fared only marginally better and even though the Finn managed an ultrasoft tyre run he finished in ninth place, 1.983s off the pace.

Fourth place in the session went to Valtteri Bottas in the second Mercedes, the Finn posting a time of 1:42.104 to beat fifth-placed Renault driver Nico Hulkenberg by just over three tenths of a second.

McLaren, who like Red Bull are expected to prosper on this twisting circuit, had a good session with Stoffel Vandoorne finishing in sixth place, 1.6s adrift of Ricciardo. Team-mate Fernando Alonso was just under three tenths of a second further back in seventh place.

After finish fifth in the earlier session, Sergio Perez was eighth for Force India, 1.974s off the pace. Ninth-placed Räikkönen separated Perez from his Force India team-mate Esteban Ocon who finished 0.269s behind the Mexican.

2017 Singapore Grand Prix – Free Practice 2
1 Daniel Ricciardo  Red Bull 33 1:40.852
2 Max Verstappen  Red Bull 28 1:41.408 0.556
3 Lewis Hamilton  Mercedes 36 1:41.555 0.703
4 Valtteri Bottas  Mercedes 35 1:42.104 1.252
5 Nico Hulkenberg  Renault 33 1:42.448 1.596
6 Stoffel Vandoorne  McLaren 34 1:42.501 1.649
7 Fernando Alonso  McLaren 32 1:42.788 1.936
8 Sergio Perez  Force India 35 1:42.826 1.974
9 Kimi Raikkonen  Ferrari 30 1:42.835 1.983
10 Esteban Ocon  Force India 34 1:43.054 2.202
11 Sebastian Vettel  Ferrari 33 1:43.104 2.252
12 Carlos Sainz Jr.  Toro Rosso 38 1:43.236 2.384
13 Daniil Kvyat  Toro Rosso 32 1:43.608 2.756
14 Jolyon Palmer  Renault 32 1:43.795 2.943
15 Felipe Massa  Williams 32 1:43.836 2.984
16 Lance Stroll  Williams 32 1:44.301 3.449
17 Kevin Magnussen  Haas 32 1:44.417 3.565
18 Romain Grosjean  Haas 29 1:44.928 4.076
19 Pascal Wehrlein  Sauber 34 1:45.673 4.821
20 Marcus Ericsson  Sauber 35 1:45.721 4.869


Tags : , , , , ,

With coverage extending from ARCA, NASCAR, IndyCar, and Formula 1, Motorsports Tribune is one of the premier outlets for racing news in the United States. We are a team of the hardest-working and most trusted names in the industry that are all about honoring the past, present, and future of auto racing.