Christian Rasmussen Tag

Posted On September 22, 2019By Motorsports TribuneIn Cooper Tires USF2000

Eves Scores Dramatic USF2000 Win to Earn Championship Crown

By Road to Indy MONTEREY, Calif. – Braden Eves had only one thought on his mind entering this morning’s Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship season finale at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca: He needed to win. Eves, 20, from New Albany, Ohio, trailed New Zealander Hunter McElrea by 12 points. He was well positioned on the starting grid, lining up third, while the unfortunate McElrea was 18th and last after being hobbled in qualifying by a broken throttle position sensor. But while many of the front-runners had the advantage of a freshRead More
By Road to Indy MONTEREY, Calif. – The first rung on the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires open-wheel development ladder provided some of the best entertainment this afternoon at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca and ensured that the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship will remain undecided until tomorrow’s conclusion of the 15-race season. Denmark’s Christian Rasmussen continued his recent run of success by claiming an emphatic victory for Jay Howard Driver Development, while New Zealander Hunter McElrea (Pabst Racing) finished second and claimed a bonus point for setting the fastestRead More
By Road to Indy LEXINGTON, Ohio – Game on in this year’s Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship. Two race weekends ago, Hunter McElrea trailed early season pacesetter Braden Eves by a seemingly daunting 41 points in the quest for a scholarship valued at over to $300,000 to move up to the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires, the next rung on the Road to Indy, in 2020. But following a second-place finish yesterday and a hard-earned victory this morning for Pabst Racing, New Zealander McElrea now trails Eves, whoseRead More

Posted On July 27, 2019By Motorsports TribuneIn Cooper Tires USF2000

Rasmussen Doubles Up with Dominant USF2000 Victory

By Road to Indy LEXINGTON, Ohio – Christian Rasmussen is on a roll. Two weeks after claiming his first Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship victory on the streets of Toronto, the 19-year-old from Copenhagen, Denmark, emerged triumphant again this afternoon at a warm and sunny Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course for Jay Howard Driver Development. Polesitter Hunter McElrea, from Gold Coast, Australia, had to be content with second place, with Pabst Racing teammate Colin Kaminsky, from Homer Glen, Ill., following him home in third. A clean start saw McElrea initially hold hisRead More
By Road to Indy TORONTO, Ont., Canada – Just one day after claiming his first Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship pole and podium finish, Denmark’s Christian Rasmussen went one better this morning to claim a conclusive first victory for himself and the Jay Howard Driver Development team. Rasmussen finished barely a car’s length ahead of yesterday’s winner Darren Keane (Cape Motorsports), from Boca Raton, Fla., at the conclusion of a dramatic 20-lap Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Toronto Presented by Allied Building Products on the challenging Exhibition Place street circuit. EnglishmanRead More
By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer TORONTO — Darren Keane has been fast all throughout the first half of the 2019 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship. Driving for Cape Motorsports, the Floridian has had strong runs but the trophy cabinet lacked a first place trophy. That is, until Saturday’s race on the streets of Toronto as Keane put his No. 2 Tatuus USF-17 into victory lane. Keane bided his time behind Christian Rasmussen’s Jay Howard Driver Development No. 6. but got around the Danish driver coming into Turn 3 on Lap 11. FromRead More
By Road to Indy TORONTO, Ont., Canada – Darren Keane has been knocking on the door of Victory Lane all the way through the opening half of this year’s Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship season. Finally, in today’s Cooper Tires Grand Prix of Toronto Presented by Allied Building Products, the 19-year-old from Boca Raton, Fla., beat down that door by passing Danish pole sitter Christian Rasmussen and holding off repeated attempts at a repass to shake the monkey off his back and secure a sixth PFC Award of the year forRead More
By Road to Indy ST. PETERSBURG, Fla. – Testing is complete and the 10th year of racing for the Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires is set to kick off this week on the famed streets of St. Petersburg. The world-renowned, three-step open-wheel development ladder, which offers opportunities for talented young drivers to progress from the grassroots of the sport to the NTT IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis 500, will distribute more than $2.5 million in scholarships and prizes between now and late September, when the season finale willRead More

Posted On February 18, 2019By Christopher DeHardeIn Breaking News, Headline News, Road to Indy

Road to Indy Grids Expand with Announcements

By Christopher DeHarde, Staff Writer All three championships on the Road to Indy presented by Cooper Tires had driver announcements filter through so let’s take a look at all the announcements to expand the number of cars on the respective championships. In the Indy Lights presented by Cooper Tires, 2017 Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship winner Oliver Askew was a late addition to spring testing at Circuit of the Americas for Andretti Autosport. The Jupiter, Florida native signed a contract to race the No. 28 entry for the Indianapolis-based squad alongside RyanRead More