Jack Harvey Tag

By Luis Torres, Staff Writer The final oval race of the season could also be championship Sunday as Gateway has a slew of storylines, ranging from silly season to potential history being made. Championship leader Alex Palou, who is currently dealing with drama behind the scenes with his contract, has a 101-point lead over Scott Dixon and an additional four points over Josef Newgarden. With three rounds remaining, Scott McLaughlin, Pato O’Ward and Marcus Ericsson are also in the hunt for the championship. Thus, six drivers mathematically have a chance ofRead More
By David Morgan, Associate Editor INDIANAPOLIS – It’s been a day for Graham Rahal. After starting the morning with the fastest speed in practice, the driver of the No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda backed it up in qualifying to secure the pole for the Gallagher Grand Prix – his first since Detroit in June of 2017. A stretch of more than six years. Though he had some qualms with the way his car was driving at certain points through qualifying, the end result is no doubt a stark contrastRead More
By David Morgan, Associate Editor ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – It was a familiar sight at the top of the scoring pylon on Sunday morning as Alexander Rossi paced the final warm-up practice ahead of the Sonsio Grand Prix at Road America. The driver of the No. 7 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet, who was the fastest in both pre-qualifying practice sessions, set the fast time with a lap of one minute, 41.7917 seconds ahead of six-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon. Despite a falter in qualifying that will have him starting inRead More
By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Alex Palou won the NTT P1 Award for the 107th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on Sunday with the fastest pole speed in the history of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” 2021 NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Palou earned his first career “500” pole, becoming the first Spaniard to take the top spot, with a four-lap average speed of 234.217 mph (2 minutes, 33.7037 seconds) in the No. 10 The American Legion Honda during the dramatic Firestone Fast Six session. He delivered Chip Ganassi Racing its thirdRead More
By David Morgan, Associate Editor Never give up, never surrender. As the clock wound down in Sunday’s hour-long Last Row Shootout for the 107th running of the Indianapolis 500, Jack Harvey and his No. 30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan team were in desperation mode, having made two previous runs that weren’t fast enough to put them in the 33-car field. It had been a week of struggle for not only his team, but the entire RLL Racing organization, with three of their four cars vying for a spot in the race. WhenRead More
By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Felix Rosenqvist led a historic day of qualifying Saturday for the 107th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge, turning the third-fastest four-lap qualifying run in history to lead the 12 drivers who will compete for the NTT P1 Award on Sunday. Rosenqvist’s second run of the day, at 4:42 p.m. ET, featured a four-lap average speed of 233.947 mph in the No. 6 Arrow McLaren Chevrolet. Only Arie Luyendyk’s all-time record run of 236.986 in 1996 and Scott Dixon’s pole run of 234.048 last year were faster.Read More
By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Christian Lundgaard capped a resurgent Friday for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, winning his first career NTT P1 Award in qualifying for the GMR Grand Prix on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. Lundgaard turned a best lap of 1 minute, 9.3321 seconds in the No. 45 Hy-Vee Honda to become the first Danish driver to win an INDYCAR SERIES pole. He edged Felix Rosenqvist by 27 ten-thousandths of a second, as Rosenqvist will start second after a best lap of 1:09.3348 in the No. 6 Arrow McLarenRead More
By Phillip Schmitz, Staff Writer FORT WORTH, Tex. — If this weekend offered any sort of a reference stick for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing for the Indianapolis 500, to say they missed the mark would be a complete understatement. The trio of Graham Rahal, Jack Harvey, and Christian Lundgaard were the slowest three cars in practice on Saturday. Qualifying didn’t yield anything better with Rahal qualifying in 24th, while Lungaard and Harvey qualified in 27th and 28th. It wasn’t that long ago this team was near the front of the order.Read More
By David Morgan, Associate Editor NASHVILLE – Scott Dixon knew his No. 9 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda had the speed in it to win Sunday’s Big Machine Music City Grand Prix in Nashville, he just needed the chance to show it. After starting back in 14th place, Dixon would have to overcome some damage early in the race to make it happen, getting caught up in the Lap 26 melee in Turn 7. But Dixon’s crew went to work to get him back in the game and he was able toRead More
By INDYCAR INDIANAPOLIS – Will Power won the NTT P1 Award for the GMR Grand Prix on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, earning his 64th career INDYCAR SERIES pole on his final qualifying lap Friday afternoon. Power’s best lap was 1 minute, 9.7664 seconds in the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet on the 14-turn, 2.439-mile road course. Australian Power is just three poles shy of tying the all-time INDYCAR SERIES pole record of 67 set by Mario Andretti. SEE: Qualifying Results “This series, it’s so tight,” Power said. “So, toRead More