Vettel returns to Race of Champions

Four-time Formula One World Champion Sebastian Vettel is set to run the Race of Champions at the former Olympic Stadium in London this November.

Vettel, is the first active Formula One driver to put his name in the running and will chase his seventh ROC Nation’s Cup, but his first individual title.

Nine-time 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Tom Kristensen, FIA World Rallycross champion Petter Solberg and defending ROC champion David Coulthard are just a few of the major names preparing for this year’s event.
Vettel made his ROC debut ironically in London at Wembley Stadium, partnering with Michael Schumacher to represent Team Germany. The duo clinched the ROC Nations’ Cup a record six consecutive times from 2007 to 2012.

The Scuderia Ferrari driver has not participated in the Race of Champions each of the previous two years, but will look to better his previous best in the individual competition, having reached the semi-finals on two different occasions.

“I’m looking forward to returning to the Race Of Champions, which I’ve enjoyed competing in since my Formula 1 debut in 2007,” said Vettel. “It is going to be very exciting to race cars in the Stadium that hosted the 2012 London Olympic Games.

“Of course I’ll miss having Michael as my team-mate this time but I’ll try my best to bring the ROC Nations Cup trophy back to Germany and to win my first individual ROC title. That is one trophy that is still missing from my collection.”

The Race of Champions is a two day event that puts drivers from a variety of different racing series around the world against each other as they battle for both national and individual honors.

The Stadium at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park is set to host the event on November 20-21.

Tags : , , , , , ,

Joey Barnes is the Founder of Motorsports Tribune. He has covered auto racing since 2013 that has spanned from Formula 1 to NASCAR, with coverage on IndyCar. Additionally, his work has appeared on Racer, and Autoweek magazine. In 2017, he was recognized with an award in Spot News Writing by the National Motorsports Press Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *