Photo: Joe Skibinski/Penske Entertainment

2024 NASCAR Cup Series Schedule Highlighted by Iowa Debut, Playoff Shakeup

By David Morgan, Associate Editor

The 2024 NASCAR Cup Series schedule is finally here.

After weeks of piecing together next year’s schedule like a puzzle, the full picture was finally revealed on Wednesday when the sanctioning body rolled out the full lineup of tracks and dates for NASCAR’s premier series.

While there are many mainstays that remain in known positions on the calendar, there have also been a number of changes made to the schedule, including the debut of Iowa Speedway next June.

 Since opening in 2006, the Rusty Wallace designed 7/8ths-mile tri-oval has hosted a number of other series, including ARCA, the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series, the NASCAR Xfinity Series, and the NTT IndyCar Series over the course of its lifespan, but never the Cup Series – until now.

Fans and drivers have long called for the track to get a shot at hosting a Cup race and they’ll finally get that chance next summer.

In a much-heralded announcement in the Iowa state capitol on Tuesday, NASCAR officials were joined by state leaders to lock in the June 16 race date for the track’s Cup debut – a Sunday night showdown under the lights.

“This is a dream come true,” said NASCAR Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace, Iowa Speedway’s co-founder and designer. “This track was built with the intent of hosting a NASCAR Cup Series race one day, and to finally see it come together is a testament to the tenacity of the great race fans in Iowa.”

The addition of Iowa to the 36-race season slate was not the only change made for 2024, with a number of changes for other tracks as well. Some of which were made necessary by the two-week break in August for the Summer Olympics.

Among the changing season landscape are these new dates:

  • Atlanta’s first race date moves up to Race No. 2 on the schedule (February 25), with its second date shifting from a mid-summer race to the kick-off race for the Playoffs.
  • Bristol dirt is no more, with the track using its typical concrete oval for its spring race on March 17.
  • Texas moves from out of the Playoffs to a spring date on April 14.
  • The Chicago street course returns for its second go-around on July 7.
  • The Brickyard 400 is back on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval on July 21.
  • With the Olympic break, the Southern 500 at Darlington will now serve as the regular season finale on Labor Day weekend, with Daytona now the penultimate race of the regular season a week earlier on August 24.
  • Watkins Glen moves into the Playoffs as the middle race of the first round between Atlanta and Bristol.
  • Kansas will now serve as the opening race for the second round.
  • The shift caused by the Olympic break will also see Phoenix moved a week later and the champion crowned on November 10 instead of the first week in November as it currently sits.

See the full 2024 Cup Series schedule below:

DateRace / TrackNetworkStart Time (ET)
Sunday, February 4Clash (L.A. Memorial Coliseum)FOX8:00 p.m.
Thursday, February 15Duel at DaytonaFS17:00 p.m.
Sunday, February 18DAYTONA 500FOX2:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 25Atlanta Motor SpeedwayFOX3:00 p.m.
Sunday, March 3Las Vegas Motor SpeedwayFOX3:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 10Phoenix RacewayFOX3:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 17Bristol Motor SpeedwayFOX3:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 24COTAFOX3:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 31Richmond RacewayFOX7:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 7Martinsville SpeedwayFS13:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 14Texas Motor SpeedwayFS13:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 21Talladega SuperspeedwayFOX3:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 28Dover Motor SpeedwayFS12:00 p.m.
Sunday, May 5Kansas SpeedwayFS13:00 p.m.
Sunday, May 12Darlington RacewayFS13:00 p.m.
Sunday, May 19All-Star Race (N. Wilkesboro)FS18:00 p.m.
Sunday, May 26Charlotte Motor SpeedwayFOX6:00 p.m.
Sunday, June 2World Wide Technology RacewayFS13:30 p.m.
Sunday, June 9Sonoma RacewayFOX3:30 p.m.
Sunday, June 16Iowa SpeedwayUSA7:00 p.m.
Sunday, June 23New Hampshire Motor SpeedwayUSA2:30 p.m.
Sunday, June 30Nashville SuperspeedwayNBC3:30 p.m.
Sunday, July 7Chicago Street RaceNBC4:30 p.m.
Sunday, July 14Pocono RacewayUSA2:30 p.m.
Sunday, July 21Indianapolis Motor SpeedwayNBC2:30 p.m.
Sunday, August 11Richmond RacewayUSA6:00 p.m.
Sunday, August 18Michigan International SpeedwayUSA2:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 24Daytona International SpeedwayNBC7:30 p.m.
Sunday, September 1Darlington RacewayUSA6:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 8Atlanta Motor SpeedwayUSA3:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 15Watkins Glen InternationalUSA3:00 p.m.
Saturday, September 21Bristol Motor SpeedwayUSA7:30 p.m.
Sunday, September 29Kansas SpeedwayUSA3:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 6Talladega SuperspeedwayNBC2:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 13Charlotte RovalNBC2:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 20Las Vegas Motor SpeedwayNBC2:30 p.m.
Sunday, October 27Homestead-Miami SpeedwayNBC2:30 p.m.
Sunday, November 3Martinsville SpeedwayNBC2:00 p.m.
Sunday, November 10Phoenix RacewayNBC3:00 p.m.

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , ,

David Morgan is the Associate Editor for Motorsports Tribune. A 2008 graduate from the University of Mississippi, David has followed NASCAR since the early 90’s and became hooked at an early age after attending his first race at Talladega Superspeedway in 1993. He has traveled across the country since 2012 to cover some of the most prestigious events both IndyCar and NASCAR have to offer, with an aim to only expand on that in the near future.