Photo: Logan T. Arce/ASP, Inc.

Crew Chief Lineup at Team Penske Undergoes Offseason Shakeup

By David Morgan, Associate Editor

Team Penske announced Monday that the three drivers in its NASCAR Cup Series stable will have new crew chiefs atop the pit box when the green flag drops on the 2020 season at Daytona.

All three crew chiefs, Jeremy Bullins, Todd Gordon, and Paul Wolfe had been with their current drivers for anywhere from six to 11 years, but will now have new relationships to form with different teams in the organization.

Bullins will take over for Wolfe as crew chief of the No. 2 team, marking the end of a partnership of more than a decade of Wolfe and Brad Keselowski working together. Keselowski and Wolfe won 29 races together since first joining forces in 2011, including the 2012 Cup Series championship.

Wolfe will move over to serve as crew chief for Joey Logano and the No. 22 team, replacing Todd Gordon. The driver/crew chief combination of Logano and Gordon had been in play since Logano first moved to Team Penske in 2013, with the duo winning 21 races and the 2018 championship.

Gordon now heads over to helm the pit box for the newest driver in the Team Penske Cup Series stable, Ryan Blaney, and the No. 12 team, replacing Bullins, who had served as Blaney’s crew chief since 2014 at both Team Penske and Wood Brothers Racing. Blaney and Bullins won three races together, most recently at Talladega last fall, where he punched his ticket into the Round of 8 in the Playoffs.

“As we do after the completion of each season, we evaluated what we can do to better achieve our goals and we felt it was time to make these changes to better position us to reach our potential,” said team owner Roger Penske.

“We are fortunate that we have three very strong leaders in Paul, Todd and Jeremy, who work with experienced and talented crews. Pairing each of these winning teams with different drivers and cars should provide new energy and a fresh approach for the 2020 season.”

The pit crews and road crews for the respective teams will follow the crew chief to their new team, while the spotters paired with each driver will remain intact.

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

David Morgan is the Associate Editor for Motorsports Tribune. A 2008 graduate from the University of Mississippi, David has followed NASCAR since the early 90’s and became hooked at an early age after attending his first race at Talladega Superspeedway in 1993. He has traveled across the country since 2012 to cover some of the most prestigious events both IndyCar and NASCAR have to offer, with an aim to only expand on that in the near future.