Porsche locks out front row in Nurburgring

Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb split qualifying duties in the No. 18 Porsche 919 Hybrid to best teammates Mark Webber and Timo Bernhard en route to the pole for the Six Hours of Nurburgring.

Dumas and Lieb had a two lap average of 1:36.473s, beating the second Porsche 919 Hybrid by a slim 0.069s. Dumas set the fastest outright lap with a 1:36.192s and secured Team Porsche’s continuance perfect pole record for 2015.

Led by Oliver Jarvis and Lucas Di Grassi, Audi Sport Team Joest saw the No. 8 Audi R18 etron Quattro settle for third on the grid followed by their teammates in the No. 7 driven by Marcel Fassler and Andre Lotterer in fourth.

The Toyota TS040 teams secured fifth and sixth with Rebellion Racing leading the LMP1 privateers with the No. 12 R-One AER timing in at 1:42.513s, just ahead of the No. 13 and bettering the No. 4 CLM P1/01 AER by over 2.3s.

The LMP2 class witnessed Nick Tandy and Matt Howson push the No. 47 KCMG ORECA 05-Nissan in at 1:46132s, just ahead of Sam Bird and Julien Canal in the No. 26 G-Drive Racing Ligier-Nissan.

Ferrari grabbed pole in both the GTE-Pro and GTE-Am categories.

In the Pro class, defending GTE champions Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander timed in at 1:54.275 in the No. 51 AF Corse Ferrari 458, narrowly edging out their AF Corse teammates in the No. 71 by 0.055s.

SMP Racing led their Ferrari 458 in the LMGTE Am class with Viktor Shaytar and Aleksey Basov nailing the pole 0.5s ahead of the No. 98 Aston Martin Vantage driven by Paul Dalla Lana and Pedro Lamy, winners at Silverstone and Spa-Francorchamps.

Porsche seized third with the No. 77 Dempsey Proton Racing of Patrick Long and Patrick Dempsey.

Pos Driver Team Time Gap
Romain Dumas
Neel Jani
Marc Lieb
Porsche 1’36.473
Timo Bernhard
Mark Webber
Brendon Hartley
Porsche 1’36.542 0.069
Lucas di Grassi
Loïc Duval
Oliver Jarvis
Audi 1’37.476 1.003
Marcel Fässler
André Lotterer
Benoît Tréluyer
Audi 1’37.783 1.310
Anthony Davidson
Sébastien Buemi
Kazuki Nakajima
Toyota 1’38.689 2.216
Alexander Wurz
Mike Conway
Toyota 1’39.371 2.898
Nicolas Prost
Mathias Beche
Nick Heidfeld
Rebellion/AER 1’42.513 6.040
Daniel Abt
Rebellion/AER 1’42.985 6.512
Simon Trummer
Pierre Kaffer
CLM/AER 1’44.886 8.413
10  Matt Howson
Richard Bradley
Nick Tandy
ORECA/Nissan 1’46.132 9.659
11  Roman Rusinov
Julien Canal
Sam Bird
Ligier/Nissan 1’46.505 10.032
12  N.Panciatici
Paul-Loup Chatin
Alpine/Nissan 1’47.174 10.701
13  Gustavo Yacamán
Luis Derani
Ricardo González
Ligier/Nissan 1’47.179 10.706
14  Pierre Ragues
Oliver Webb
Archie Hamilton
Morgan/SARD 1’47.572 11.099
15  Nick Leventis
Danny Watts
Jonny Kane
Dome/Nissan 1’48.250 11.777
16  Scott Sharp
Ryan Dalziel
David Hansson
Ligier/HPD 1’48.342 11.869
17  Ed Brown
J.van Overbeek
Jon Fogarty
Ligier/HPD 1’50.594 14.121
18  Gianmaria Bruni
Toni Vilander
Ferrari 1’54.275 17.802
19  Davide Rigon
James Calado
Ferrari 1’54.330 17.857
20  Marco Sørensen
Aston Martin 1’54.498 18.025
21  Patrick Pilet
Porsche 1’54.688 18.215
22  Richard Lietz
Porsche 1’54.729 18.256
23  Fernando Rees
Alex MacDowall
Richie Stanaway
Aston Martin 1’54.933 18.460
24  Darren Turner
Stefan Mücke
Jonathan Adam
Aston Martin 1’55.387 18.914
25  Viktor Shaitar
Andrea Bertolini
Aleksey Basov
Ferrari 1’56.528 20.055
26  Paul Dalla Lana
Pedro Lamy
Mathias Lauda
Aston Martin 1’57.060 20.587
27  Patrick Dempsey
Patrick Long
Marco Seefried
Porsche 1’57.232 20.759
28  François Perrodo
Emmanuel Collard
Rui Águas
Ferrari 1’57.246 20.773
29  Christian Ried
K.Al Qubaisi
Earl Bamber
Porsche 1’57.563 21.090
30  Gianluca Roda
Paolo Ruberti
Kristian Poulsen
Chevrolet 1’57.647 21.174
31  F.Castellacci
Roald Goethe
Stuart Hall
Aston Martin 1’59.993 23.520


Image: Porsche

Tags : , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Joey Barnes is the Founder of Motorsports Tribune. He has covered auto racing since 2013 that has spanned from Formula 1 to NASCAR, with coverage on IndyCar. Additionally, his work has appeared on Racer, IndyCar.com and Autoweek magazine. In 2017, he was recognized with an award in Spot News Writing by the National Motorsports Press Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *