Photo: Sarah Crabill/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the 2017 NASCAR CWTS NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series visited Daytona International Speedway, Johnny Sauter took home the victory in the . The race ended under caution after a multi-truck accident that saw Christopher Bell flip multiple times.

Sauter is the only former winner in the Truck Series at Daytona in the field this weekend.

There are no Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regulars entered in Friday night’s race. J.J. Yeley, Scott Lagasse Jr., and Todd Peck are the only NASCAR Xfinity Series regulars entered in the race. ARCA Racing Series regular Bobby Gerhart is also entered in Firday’s race.

Truck Series Championship

The format for the 2017 season sees a new race format as well as an updated Playoff format. Every race is now broken into three separate stages, with the Top 10 finishers in stages one and two earning points. The winner of the stage earns one playoff point and 10 championship points, second place gets nine points, third eight points, and so on. The winner of the race also earned five bonus points.

Bonus points for leading a lap and leading the most laps have been eliminated.

At Daytona, the first stage ends on lap 20, the second stage on lap 40, and the final stage on lap 100.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • With the new race format, what kinds of strategy will we see? Who will gamble to win each stage?
  • Spencer Boyd makes his first start at Daytona in the No. 12 Grunt Style Chevrolet Silverado for Rick Ware Racing.
  • J.J. Yeley will be in the No. 22 Legrand Toyota Tundra for AM Racing.
  • Scott Lagasse will be in the No. 24 FDOT Chevrolet Silverado for GMS Racing in place of J.J. Haley who will not be of age to compete on tracks larger than 1.1 miles until after Daytona.
  • 2016 ARCA Racing Series Champion Chase Briscoe will make his NCWTS debut for Brad Keselowski Racing in the No. 29 Cooper Standard Ford F-150.
  • Myatt Snider will be in the No. 51 Louisiana Hot Sauce Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Stewart Friesen returns in the new No. 52 Halmar International Chevrolet Silverado for Halmar-Friesen Racing.
  • Parker Kligerman returns in the No. 75 Food Country USA Toyota Tundra for Henderson Motorsports.
  • Joe Nemechek will be in the No. 87 Fleetwing Chevrolet Silverado in a second NEMCO Motorsports entry.
  • Regan Smith returns to the NCWTS for the first time since 2008. Smith will be in the No. 92 BTS Tire and Wheel Ford F-150 for Ricky Benton Racing.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Thursday, February 23, 2:00 p.m. on Fox Sports 1

Practice 2: Thursday, February 23, 4:00 p.m. on Fox Sports 1

Qualifying: Friday, February 24, 4:30 p.m. on Fox Sports 1

Race: Friday, February 24, 7:30 p.m. on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, MRN Radio

Tags : , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *