Photo: Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR CWTS American Ethanol E15 225 at Chicagoland

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

The last time the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series visited Chicagoland Speedway, John Hunter Nemechek took home the victory in dramatic fashion. Nemechek passed race leader Kyle Larson as he ran out of fuel. Tyler Reddick finished in second, over 12 seconds behind Nemechek.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Kyle Busch and Nemechek are the only passed winners in this weekend’s field.

Truck Series Chase

15 races into the 2016 Camping World Truck Series Season, there have been nine different winners. Three of those winners, Brett Moffitt, Kyle Busch, and Kyle Larson, are not eligible for the Truck Series Chase. Matt Crafton, William Byron, John Hunter Nemechek, Johnny Sauter, Christopher Bell, and Ben Kennedy have all won at least one race, and are now locked in the Chase thanks to those wins. With just one race left in the regular season, and two Chase spots up for grabs, many will be fighting for a win and a Chase berth.

The other drivers currently in the Chase on points are Daniel Hemric and Timothy Peters. Neither Hemric, nor Peters are locked in on points. Peters currently has a 32-point lead over Cole Custer, the first driver on the outside looking in.

What to Watch For

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Many Truck Series regulars are looking at scoring their first win of the season and to lock themselves into the Truck Series Chase in the final regular season race.
  • A Ford has never visited victory lane in the Truck Series at Chicagoland. Can a Ford break through for a victory?
  • Ray Black Jr. will be in the No. 07 Chervolet Silverado for SS-Greenlight Racing.
  • Matt Tifft returns to the No. 11 BrainGear/Surface Suncreen Toyota Tundra. 10 weeks ago, Tifft underwent brain surgery to remove a low-grade giloma.
  • Erik Jones returns in the No. 18 SiriusXM Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Grant Enfinger will be in the No. 24 Champion Chevrolet Silverado once again for GMS Racing.
  • Daniel Suarez will be in the No. 51 Arris Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Jesse Little will be in the No. 63 Chevrolet Silverado for the Mittler Brothers.
  • Josh Berry will make his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series debut in the No. 71 American Club Chevrolet Silverado for Contreras Motorsports.
  • Ryan Truex returns in the No. 81 Toyota Tundra.
  • Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender William Byron looks to increase his 69 point lead on teammate Christopher Bell. Meanwhile, Cole Custer, Ben Rhodes, and Rico Abreu continue to try to gain ground on the rookie point leaders.
  • Points leader William Byron is looking to extend his 28 point lead over Daniel Hemric.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Qualifying: Friday, September 16, 4:30 p.m. on Fox Sports 1

Race: Friday, September 16, 8:30 p.m. on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, MRN Radio

Tags : , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *