Photo: Drew Hallowell/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR CWTS Buckle Up In Your Truck 225 at Kentucky

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

10 races into the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season only four series regulars have scored a victory (Christopher Bell and John Hunter Nemechek twice, Johnny Sauter and Kaz Grala once). Even though Bell has one more win than Sauter, Sauter leads the points standings, having a 42-point advantage over Bell. The Truck Series regulars will have their hands full in Thursday night’s Buckle Up In Your Truck 225 with Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver Kyle Busch entered in the field.

The last time the Truck Series visited Kentucky Speedway, William Byron took home the victory in thrilling fashion. Byron held off a late charge by Nemechek to win by 0.190 seconds. Daniel Hemric, Christopher Bell, and Johnny Sauter rounded out the top five that day.

Busch and Crafton are the only former winners in the Truck Series at Kentucky in the field this weekend. Busch has two wins at the 1.5-mile track in 2011 and 2014. Crafton won in 2015.

NASCAR Xfinity Series regulars in the field this weekend include Brandon Jones, JJ Yeley, Ross Chastain, and Tommy Regan.

Truck Series Championship

Chase Briscoe, Bell, Nemechek, Grala, Ryan Truex, Crafton, and Sauter are the only drivers with Playoff points. Bell has 14 Playoff Points, Nemechek has 11, with Sauter having 10, Grala has five, while Briscoe, Crafton, and Truex have one each.

Truex is the only driver with Playoff Points behind the cutoff.

At Kentucky, the first stage ends on lap 35, the second stage on lap 70, and the final stage on lap 150.

What to Watch For in the Buckle Up In Your Truck 225

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Austin Hill returns in the No. 02 Whitetail Heaven Outfitters Ford F-150 for Young’s Motorsports.
  • Ryan Truex will have AISIN as the primary sponsor for his No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota Tundra.
  • Austin Wayne Self returns in the No. 22 Airflotek / Don’t Mess With Texas / Snap Truck Toyota Tundra for AM Racing.
  • Kyle Busch will be in the No. 46 Banfield Pet Hospital Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Myatt Snider will be in the No. 51 Liberty Tax Service Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Stewart Friesen returns in No. 52 Halmar International for Halmar-Friesen Racing after a two race hiatus.
  • Parker Kligerman returns in the No. 75 Food Country USA / Lopez Wealth Management / Tide Pods Toyota Tundra for Henderson Motorsports.
  • JJ Yeley will be in the No. 83 Chevrolet Silverado for Copp Motorsports.
  • Regan Smith returns in the No. 92 BTS Tire & Wheel / Commercial Tire & Service / Advance Auto Parts / Carquest / Valvoline Ford F-150 for Ricky Benton Racing.
  • Brandon Jones returns in the No. 99 CHIGO Chevrolet Silverado for MDM Motorsports.

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Wednesday, July 5, 3:00 p.m., not televised.

Practice 2: Wednesday, July 5, 5:00 p.m., not televised.

Qualifying: Thursday, July 6, 5:00 p.m., on Fox Sports 1.

Race: Thursday, July 6, 7:30 p.m. on Fox Sports 1, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.