Photo: Rainier Ehrhardt/NASCAR via Getty Images

Previewing the NASCAR CWTS Overton’s 150 at Pocono

By Seth Eggert, NASCAR Writer

Twelve races into the 2017 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season, five series regulars have scored a victory (Christopher Bell three times, John Hunter Nemechek twice, Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton, and Kaz Grala once). Even though Bell has two more wins than Sauter, Sauter leads the points standings, having a seven-point advantage over Bell. The Truck Series regulars will have their hands full once again in Saturday’s race as Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regular Kyle Busch will be in the field.

The last time the Truck Series visited Pocono Raceway, William Byron took home the victory in dominating fashion. Byron led 44 of 60 laps on his way to victory. He beat Cameron Hayley to the line by 1.406 seconds. Brett Moffitt, Timothy Peters, and Cole Custer rounded out the top five that day. Seven of the drivers that finished in the Top 10 last year are not entered in this year’s race.

Busch is the only former winner at Pocono in the Truck Series entered in the race. He won in 2015. In seven Pocono races for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, there have been seven different winners.

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series regulars Busch and Cody Ware are entered in the field.

Truck Series Championship

A total of 11 drivers have Playoff points. Bell has 19 Playoff Points, Nemechek has 11, with Sauter having 10, Crafton has seven, Grala has five, while Chase Briscoe, Noah Gragson, Ben Rhodes, Ryan Truex, and Stewart Friesen have one each.

Friesen, Gragson, and Truex are the only drivers with Playoff Points behind the cutoff.

At Pocono, the first stage ends on lap 15, the second stage on lap 30, and the final stage on lap 60.

What to Watch For in the Overton’s 150

There are several storylines going into this weekend’s race to watch for:

  • Austin Hill returns to the No. 02 Treezyn Camo Ford F-150 for Young’s Motorsports.
  • Ryan Truex will have Shop Rite as the primary sponsor of his No. 16 Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota Tundra.
  • Bryan Dauzat will be in the No. 28 FDNY Racing Chevrolet Silverado for Jim Rosenblum.
  • Travis Kvapil will be in the No. 36 Chevrolet Silverado for the Mittler Brothers.
  • Matt Mills will be in the No. 44 Chevrolet Silverado for Faith Motorsports.
  • Kyle Busch will be in the No. 51 Cessna Toyota Tundra for Kyle Busch Motorsports.
  • Camden Murphy will be in the No. 63 Chevrolet Silverado for the Mittler Brothers.
  • Justin Fontaine returns to the Truck Series for the first time since suffering a back injury in the season-opening ARCA race. He will be in the No. 66 Promatic Automation Toyota Tundra for Bolen Motorsports in a collaborative effort with AM Racing.
  • Todd Peck will be in the No. 83 Pulse Transportation / National Arthritis Foundation for Copp Motorsports

Where and When to Watch (All Times Eastern)

Practice 1: Friday, July 28, 12:00 p.m., on Fox Sports 1.

Practice 2: Friday, July 28, 2:00 p.m., Fox Sports 1.

Qualifying: Saturday, July 29, 10:00 a.m., on Fox Sports 1.

Race: Saturday, July 29, 1:00 p.m. on FOX, SiriusXM Channel 90, and the Motor Racing Network.

Tags : , , , , , , , ,

Seth Eggert has followed NASCAR his entire life. Seth is currently pursuing a writing career and is majoring in Communications and Journalism. He is an avid iRacer and video gamer. Seth also tutors students at Mitchell Community College in multiple subjects. He has an Associate's Degree in History.